You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Self Online - thinking about data ownership, privacy and anonymity

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Welcome! Glad you found my post helpful! 😊

I agree that your anonymity should be totally respected here and most current steemians would agree. The only reason for the verifications is normally for people who claim to be "somebody" because we don't like to see somebody's content stolen and passed off as their own.

Following you and look forward to reading more!

Sort:  

Hi! 👋 It's certainly a issue, a big one. I like that it's optional here, and that probably you will get called out if people suspect you're plagiarising content. I guess STEEM itself is a measure of trust, but also people could possibly be mislead, though not for long I imagine.

People are easily misled of course, especially in a small community where we get used to trusting the accountability that comes with the transparency of the blockchain. We have had a number of dramatic occurences where users or accounts were discovered for either scamming the system or deceiving the community. We learn and grow from them. You're here good and early to watch how this whole experiment takes off ;)

Wow, sounds exciting. Got any links to posts about that, or even the drama itself? I could trawl through the history but... 😅

Well we had a serious issue of catfish around the time I joined. One example of somebody who was actually caught for it (most of them got away) was this guy. I hope you enjoy that story as much as I did unfolding it.

Also if you look at @msgivings and check out the rewards it was getting and for his long then check the comments of the last posts before they skipped and ran you might find that interesting. Personally I'm still unsure what happened there. The person behind could easily still be on steemit.

Thank you, this is cool, given me food for thought regarding verification. Best 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67