You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Steemit Introduction! Our Homesteading Journey to Share and Teach!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi and welcome. I have been around for less than a week and I am learning so much and hope to learn more from you too.

One question about your garden. It seems to have no fences. How do you keep the animals out, especially chickens?

Sort:  

Thank you. I can relate to it all except we have no close neighbors.
I tried cayenne pepper as a deterrent but dropped a clump out of the container and the chicken began to peck at it and ate the whole thing! She was kind of subdued for a few days after that.

I have lots of chicken stories about what pests they are.
We yell and wave our arms and yell some more when we see predators in the sky or coming out of the woods but all but one of our chicks are gone. At least someone got a good meal.
This spring I put a lot of effort into building a high fence around the garden and she just flies over it and then can't get out.

Unfortunately we live on a hillside and a chicken tractor would never work. Great idea though.

I could never keep them out of garden... sorry!

We can't free range our chickens unfortunately. W have them in chicken tractors that we move every day. I have a video on why if you are interested.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.55
ETH 2610.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67