Hello Steem, I'm Nigerian, I have vitiligo, and my nickname is Batman!

 

 *inhales deeply*

 Well, that was a mouthful. 

 What’s up guys? I'm Tochukwu (or Kevin, if you don’t want to bite your tongue AND want to save us all some time). Most of my friends however, call me Batman because, well...short story, some of vitiligo patterns resemble an actual bat (guess which!), and I’ll save the long story for later (Hint: It involves themed underwear, lol). 

So anyways I’m Nigerian (Omo Naija!), I live in Nigeria, and it's a pretty great place. It is crazy in odd ways though, like the fact that I’m in a reputable college with some of the best lecturers in the country and, dare I say (I dare) the world, yet during classes it’s not uncommon for a goat 🐐  or 6 to just stroll past the door of the lecture hall, and people wouldn’t even bat an eyelid.

That’s what I wanna write about on Steemit, I guess. Little oddities in my day to day life that, while seeming more or less the norm to others at home, will be a delightful and odd breath of fresh air to the online community. I figured if I love reading about weird stuff in other places, maybe people would want to read about MY weird stuff.  Although there are the greater oddities though...like this chicken that climbed a tree by hopping up a telecommunications mast, that I’d like to cover.

"I, am Cocker, of the House El". That was just one of the multiple chicken puns that were made that day.

There’s lots of stuff going on. And in a country where the president is holding radio silence, we’re being slowly islamized, under attack by a terrorist organization, on the brink of a possible civil war, and we've been labouring under an economic depression, the fun just NEVER STOPS! HAHAHAHA!!!

I just remembered I'm supposed to be introducing myself, lol. I LOVED Breaking Bad, and I'm waiting rather impatiently for the next season of BoJack Horseman (who else believes without the animation and animal jokes it'd be a near tragedy?) 

I'm a 3rd year law student, which is brutal. We just finished exams, and i hadn't slept properly for so long I laid down, exhausted as all hell, and couldn't sleep a wink.

So that’s it for now. I just wanna talk about my stuff in what appears so far to be an awesome helpful community, while saving up to buy a PS4 (because holy shit Horizon Zero Dawn holy shit). I'll miss my Gears of War though. If I make enough, I could even get both! I’m a simple man-child-person with simple man-child-person tastes, hoping the comment section will be equal parts supportive, maybe inquisitive, and zero parts, pardon my French, sh&t heels. 

Lighthearted jokes are welcome though, we’re all here to have fun!  I guess that’s it though (I said that already? I’ll deal with it in editing. Edit: I didn’t), so just subscribe (does steemit subscribe to people? I did only basic research on this fact) to my stuff for more...stuff.  Buh bye!     

Sort:  

Thanks for all the love guys. This is an EXTREMELY active community. Some of you even beat the welcome bot, lol

Awesome introduction Tochukwu! I'm from Uruguay travelling in south america yet i don't know anything about your culture.

I'm looking foward to reading your stuff dude! welcome aboard on the steemit train.

Cheers! @filmtraveller

by zeus's beard! A nigerian with vitiligo? I can only imagine how growing up would have been.

Welcome to steemit, hope your time here is as wonderful as mine have been.

Thanks for the concern, destiny. And yes, it was pretty rough, but I survived😀

Welcome to steemit :D I hope you will have a good time.

Welcome to Steem Community @barrister-batman! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I'll definitely check it out, thanks!

Welcome here Barrister-batman! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to steemit community...What a wonderfully written intro you got here. @barrister-batman

Let me welcome you to this awesome place Barrister-batman . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help feel free to contact or follow me :-)

Thanks Chris, and I will

Welcome to Steem @barrister-batman I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42