You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Community Building: Wanna play the 'No Wrong Answers' Game? Day 10/30

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My biggest regret is letting other people decide my selfworth. Especially as a child I took everyting way to serious. If an adult said I was dumb I immediately stored it in my brain as the truth.

This has done me harm because I made life choices over this believes. For example which school to go to.

Only as an adult I started to challenge some of these thoughts and made choices that fit better. I sure wish I could go back and tell my younger self that adults can and do lie.

I have learned to question old believes and to make choices based on what I want instead of what my selfworth dictates.

Sort:  

I know exactly what you mean! People love imposing their stupid fears and opinions on children since children are innocent and defenceless :/

Yes, they are. I also think not all adults (in my childhood) did mean those things sincerely. Maybe they where just joking around or didn't think I would remember/take it to heart. Some where outright bullying, to feel better by making a child feel less.....

Yeah children are very impressionable indeed! Adults often don't realise sadly that even the smallest thing said can have a deep impact on a child's psyche :/
Hopefully the next generation can do better for their children

Thanks for answering. And for sharing your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58867.32
ETH 3223.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30