You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: adventure seeker

Thank you for your kind words and genuine interest in my story! I love doing math by paper and pencil but see that the majority of the work and money is headed towards coding and block chain. I found that the more coding and cryptology I deal with, the more interested I become. I would be delighted to know more about your work and experience and am grateful for any guidance you might be able to give me.
Thank you again, I look forward to hearing from you!

Sort:  

Also, I want to add that you have a very thoughtful and intelligent writing style. That's hard to find, and is refreshing. Keep it up :)

My concentration of work is in the consulting space. Granted, that's a very general area, but my specialty is leveraging technology to provide strategic business solutions (doesn't that sound so fancy haha).

My colleagues, who I meantioned earlier, use their degrees to develop statistical models, including predictive analytics algorithms, frequently to help our clients improve their operational effectiveness. For example, they can leverage a fuel distribution company's data to build a model that improves how often the company sends out fuel trucks to gas stations (since the fuel trucks can only travel on roads if the truck is full or empty), in effect reducing the number of gas stations that run out of gas, and decreasing the wait time a fuel truck may have to spend at a station before it can empty out its full tank. (Thus saving the fuel company a significant amount of money).

If something like this sounds interesting to you, then you can consider adding a minor, or other focus, in Python or some other relevant programming language to augment your mathematics/statistics skills and provide yourself with some additional career opportunities :)

I hope my explanation is helpful in some way. Even if you don't decide to go this route, I hope the notion that there are various opportunities on how you might expand the value of your intended degree to fit into more of your passions provides you with "food for thought".

I loved my differential equations class which consisted of problems and models very similar to the one you described. I will look into and consider adding more programming classes to my schedule as it could potentially set me up for greater success and more opportunities down the road. You have been very helpful and I feel more inspired hearing first hand how my field of interest is being applied. Thank you again so much for your explanation and time. You have been very helpful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65