Sort:  

I'm excited to see it get going and I like the idea behind DIME (the Darknet Internet Mail Environment). I want to see it in practice and how many others join in/become compatible. For me, Ladar Levison is a bit of a hero. And perhaps he also feels very patriotic (he talks a lot about upholding the values of the US Constitution). That's great, but I worry a little about Lavabit remaining in the US and also a little that he seems to be running Lavabit on his own. Let's see what happens. It has potential, for sure.

Yeah, he did the unthinkable and didn't compromise under the leviathan of the state coming down on him over snowden, I used the service for a few years before it got terminated and only recently became aware of the new developments which makes me excited to see how they turn out, and might even consider shelling out some cash for the service, but I do hope that there is at least like a 25 mb free service at least, that would mean the world or I'll bet others will start a server from his Magma system.

I wasn't aware that he was solely doing this, I assumed there was a team or the like, and I share the concerns but would like to say that at the same time he won't suffer from being co-opted by infiltrators or what not.

Also perhaps I should add: Lavabit's whole new focus on hiding metadata from mass surveillance can be achieved in part in other ways. For example, two Protonmail addresses sending emails to each other just have those travelling within the Protonmail servers. They never go out to the big bad world to get intercepted. That, of course, doesn't solve every problem. But it does enable freedom from metadata surveillance for emails for some use cases.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49