Banting saved my life - weightloss journey

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi All

My name is Rita Venter. I am 53 years old and I want to share my health and weightloss journey and hopefully help you change your life too. Hopefully Steemit will help me advance this lifestyle and get everyone healthy.

I was always thin. When I got married aged 24 I weighed 48kg and I stayed this weight after my children were born. But in my 40s, I suddenly gained weight. I hadn’t changed my eating habits but the weight started piling on, especially around my stomach. I tried many diets but the stomach remained. I was constantly ill with colds, irritable bowel syndrome and headaches. Also, I was diagnosed with fatty-liver disease.
Then my brother and sister-in-law lost a huge amount of weight doing the “Tim Noakes diet”. So I started banting. At first, I gained weight because I was eating too much. To be honest, I was cheating because I didn’t understand the science. I realised that you have do it properly or not at all.

When I started banting properly, I cleaned my house of all carbs and sugars. It’s hard when you start because eating carbs is easy and convenient. Grabbing a sandwich on the go is a lot easier than cooking something. The easiest part is that you’re eating food you recognise. Simple, fresh foods.

The weight started falling off and I began feeling healthier. I no longer suffered from constant ailments and I had more energy than I’d had in years. Now I am 27kg lighter and the huge stomach is gone. My husband also lost 30kg and his diabetes is controlled for the first time in 23 years.

When I started banting, I joined every possible Facebook group. There was a group that used to sell meal plans. I wanted to give meal plans to people who could not afford to buy them and to create a space where people would have their hand held on this journey to good health, so I set up Banting 7 Day Meal Plans. The group ethos is kindnesand tolerance, and it’s grown more than one million members. I will never give up this lifestyle – Banting has been a lifesaver for this family.

() 20B5FE5B-452F-4B49-A062-D66016663658.jpeg![D2CB520B-0D07-43BC-88E2-60109A8EB38B.jpeg]

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! And welcome to the world of cryptocurrency.

More than a million members is really impressive. Let's see if steem could manage something like that lol.

welcome to steemit and congratulations on your hard work! :)

Look what I just saw on Facebook!!! So glad you could join us on Steemit, Rita! I am sure that this will be a great place for you to grow your group and expand the boundaries! :D
Love you to the moon, chicken!
x x
Mo

Welcome to steemit, @b7dmp! It seems you are touching many lives with your program. I am very glad you are going to give our platform a shot! Good luck here - I hope to see more of you.

Im interested! Can you come to my discord server and talk about it?

Absolutely. Please add me

Sorry, invite expired. Yesterday was HECTIC! Would appreciate another invite so we can chat.

Welcome to Steem @b7dmp I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, Rita. Glad you could join us here on this platform. That's quite a change, you look amazing now. Very nice introduction post. Keep up the good work and Steem On!

Welcome to steemit b7dmp! I hope you find a home in our community!

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @b7dmp to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43