You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello! I'm Derek, a Canadian landscape photographer, and I'd like to share a few photos with you and tell you my story. :)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Honestly, I feel like an intro post once you've established yourself on this site is almost better. I feel like I already "knew" you in internet terms, so reading this has helped me get a much better background on you now that I have interacted with you.

Anywho, man.. Awesome stuff! I did actually laugh out loud (lol is what the kids say) at the Dr Pepper photo. Too funny. As @yumyumseth pointed out, he was homeschooled. As was I! Homeschooled for 9 years and then finished in a tiny private school, so basically the same thing ha. I also see you like Relient K. I don't listen to them much anymore, but back in the day that was the cream of the crop!

Loved reading this (all of it), and there was a small error in Capturing Canada in the second paragraph. But no need to financially reward me, just an internet high-five, ha. Looking forward to seeing the shots from your recent trip!

Sort:  

I felt the same, Andrew; I saw a few people making belated intro posts, and it was more effective that way. My own intro post was literally my first post, and so I didn't have a clue about how to make it, haha. Also agree that it's nice to read about people's background once you already have a foreground and they aren't strangers.

Wish I'd been able to finish this before the weekend...

Happy to make you "lol" - can't ask for better with a photo like that, haha.

Another kindred spirit! :D I've never gone to a school, but I finished high school online, if that counts. Took me forever because there were so many other important things to learn - school just got in the way. Speaking of Relient K, were you a College Kid? I think their best album was Five Score and Seven Years ago, but some of their more memorable songs were on previous albums. They don't get old. At least their music doesn't. The band members are probably aging at the standard rate.

* internet high five * I'll check that out. Thanks for the great reply! :)

Jumping in this Reliant K convo: Two Lefts Don't Make a Right, but Three Do is the album of my teen years. I'm pretty sure I still know like 90% of the words on the album even though I haven't listened for years! Also, later on Deathbed was my favorite song for a long time.

Yes, it is one of the better and most unusual songs I've ever heard. I always appreciated how Relient K play not only with words but with the music itself - they are not conventional.

You should test your theory: karaoke it on DTube it, haha!

Yeah, they definitely had a great command of the English language.

Haha! That makes so uncomfortable to think about people watching me do that! Like so uncomfortable!

You'll never be comfortable with growth. That's why it's growth. - Jerry Seinfeld

Does singing Reliant K karaoke constitute growth?

I think that's actually the first reference on dictionary.com for growth.

FS7Y was great, but I think I agree with Seth that my favorite album was TLDMARBTD. But honestly, Savannah which isn't that old, is such a good song. I don't listen to them much anymore, but I really should. They had some smart and quirky stuff.

Also, I didn't know you also do real estate photography. That's actually my main during-the-week gig out here, I work for a guy who schedules me houses. How often do you do it?

I don't know Savannah. I'll go listen. I guess I'm weird because while I still like to listen to Relient K, I'm In Love with the Mid-2000s and haven't listened to their recent stuff.

I don't shoot real estate often, but I edit real estate photos regularly as a part-time job.

Savanna is probably right before 2010, so it's late/mid 2000s...close enough right? Ha.

It's on the cusp. ;)

Thanks for being honest dude, means a lot.

Honesty is next to cleanliness.

Honesty is the one standing next to Cleanliness, elbowing it in the ribs and saying "you smell!"

Haha that got real deep real fast!

Well, you've got me there! Gonna go scrub behind my ears.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89