Myself– Unedited. (Well, for the most part...)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey y’all.

_SAM2754.JPG

My name is Kayleigh and before you ask- yes, I am named after the 1985 #2 UK hit song by the neo-prog band, Marillion.

Screen Shot 2018-03-22 at 4.32.20 PM.png
(Here's a Halloween costume I put together a few years ago based on their album art, haha)

I live in Kansas City, Missouri and I first heard about Steemit through my friend, James (@fungusmonk), who attended the Steemit meet-up in KC last summer and had a reportedly marvelous time meeting a hodge podge of Steemit folks. At the meetup, James got this nifty Steemit token from @stellabelle and passed it along to me! (Thank you @stellabelle!)

IMG_1576.jpg

The Internet has really changed the course of my life in some astonishing ways, so I’m really excited to get involved here. I’ve met up with Internet friends in cities from San Francisco to Chicago to New York to Glasgow.

Most of these friendships were initially prompted due to my project: unedited smartphone aesthetic pics (popularly known as USAP). This project is exactly what it sounds like and has featured what I can honestly say is some of the most intriguing photography I have ever seen. USAP began as a Facebook group I made out of boredom one night while I was living in Chicago in 2014, and it unexpectedly grew in niche popularity. Since then, I have put efforts into releasing a magazine and although I have been caught up in other things, I plan to release more issues in the near(ish) future.

IMG_4566.jpg

I studied psychology and studio art at DePaul University in Chicago for 3 years and although I was not able to finish my degree there, art and psychology remain some of the key aspects of my life. In the long run, I am interested in developing new methods of therapy by integrating forms of art therapy and typology. I'm a (professionally) retired activist and student on hiatus, currently making my living as a barista in training in downtown KC and trying to navigate so-called "adult" life in the year of our lord 2018. I also have a siamese cat named Haruko and we are truly kindred spirits.

28684877_10213370246624897_5472373874121514188_n.jpg

It seems that there's a pretty solid photography scene here on Steemit, which is super exciting. Feel free to comment or follow me if you're interested in my photography or USAP so I can get in touch with you and follow you back! Or if you happen to be interested in typology, psychology, existentialism, art, or caffeine, since that's what I'll probably post about for the most part.

Here are a few more photos I've taken, for your viewing pleasure (unedited, of course, but taken with my Samsung Mirrorless).

_SAM0193.jpg

_SAM1479.jpg

_SAM0400.jpg

_SAM0903 copy.JPG

_SAM2798.JPG

and lastly, possibly the best photo of me ever taken (thanks mom):

_SAM0874 copy.JPG

That's all for now. Thanks for making it all the way to the end of my very first post :^)

Sort:  

Welcome to the STEEM-universe Kayleigh - Love your halloween costume that looks like the actual cover of the music album :D

Especially with experience in art, you will definitely love it around here. Let me give you a little boost with an upvote + resteem!

Greets

Hello, Kayleigh, and Welcome to Steemit.
Apparently you have a few damned good Steemit mentors, but I'll add my advice (below) anyway.

Steemit is in many ways a publishing venture (aka, blogging site), and others have migrated their sites onto Steemit – with great results. One such blogger is @dollarvigilante.

So, you could consider publishing your mag right on this site. Or at least putting a digital version here.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Welcome.

Hi @avantgaard. Welcole to this great community.. I'm glade to see you here.

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

A wonderful Introduce-yourself, and very happy to see another artist in the platform.

@avantgaard I wish you the best of luck.

Thanks so much @dr-frankenstein! I know there are a lot of crypto-bloggers on here, which is awesome, but yeah, I'm most interested development of art communities on this site at the moment.

Hello and welcome Kayleigh, I bet you'll be enjoying the Steemit platform, have a nice upcoming time here!

I had to think of our cat when I saw yours in the ikea bag, I just didn't make a pic of ours when she was also sitting in one of them heheh
IMG-20180220-WA0008.jpg

Welcome @avantgaard! Don't worry about the massive number of crypto bloggers here...that is just where this platform got started, there are plenty of other communities starting to develop and plenty of outlets for your creative energy. I'm still trying to settle in with my fiction writing here, been a good experience so far, good luck to you!

Welcome.
Photography is all about vision, image and preserving time its not about editing to make it flawless. your photos are good.

Love your post and your photography! Can't wait to see more! And welcome to Steemit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87