Hairdressing, 80% Psychology 20% Hair?

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

 

Introduction

Hi Steem community! My name is Athina and I’m 34 years old. I was born and raised in Australia, however my heritage is Greek and yes I do have a large Greek family. I am newly married, I live with my husband Michael and our two dogs Mischa & Cleopatra.

 

My Occupation 

I am an Artistic Director Hair Stylist, unintentional psychologist and a wife. I’ve been in the hairdressing industry for 18 years and have worked on and tamed the tresses of many celebrities and athletes.

I successfully ran my own salon business for 5 years. Having my own business taught me a lot about the Hairdressing industry and the business side of it. After having worked most of my life for someone else, I finally branched out on my own. I was so excited to be my own boss, I couldn’t wait to run things my own way. I certainly learnt the challenges of balancing a business, personal life, relationship and trying to have a family (one of the reasons why I stepped away from owning the business).


Me in my salon:


 Two of my loyal clients were Jessica & Lisa (The Veronicas):


 Occassionaly I displayed work at fashion parades (Avantgard collection):



Psychology of Hairdressing

The reason for the 80% psychology 20% hair is because Hairstylists are the go-to therapist for countless men and women, providing two services- a haircut and therapy- that everyone needs on a fairly regular basis. Hairdressers don’t have it easy, they tirelessly build their clients up while trying to perform plastic surgery at the same time (HAHA)… Don’t get me wrong, not all clients expect you to make them look like a front cover model while trying to uplift their foul mood from the fight with their spouse the night before. I find the majority of clients behave this way without realizing or even caring.


Content I intend to share

My ultimate point is to talk openly and honestly about what goes on “behind the scenes” of what being a Hairstylist truly is… and it ain't glamorous. I never understood the lengths to which clients at the salon would reveal such personal details. 

Topics and passions I intend to share with the community:

  • My industry help and advice
  • Leadership Skills
  • Relationship Advice & Dating Tips
  • Cooking Greek food for the modern girl


 Your comments and ideas are welcomed and appreciated.

Stay tuned, happy steeming!

Sort:  

Welcome to this amazing community!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to steemit !! Enjoy this beautiful world! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Congratulations @athina! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @athina! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43