Meet the Teacher

How to go about introductions… I guess I’ll start with the fairly universal “Hi”.

I’m Kathryn. Bachelor-qualified early childhood teacher from New Zealand, with an additional New Zealand based Diploma in Montessori Education. This is my sixth year teaching children under the age of six. I’ve worked in this field both in New Zealand (Auckland) and Australia (Melbourne) and am currently based in the latter. So far, I have experienced a diverse range of early learning environments… Which is probably just university-talk for “Can’t hold down a job”.

I’ve gotta be honest. I first came into teaching young children not because I loved them so much. It was a pragmatic decision. After a ‘gap year’ exchange working in a UK prep school boarding house in Durham, I discovered I had a way with children. They would all ask whether I thought I might become a teacher when I returned home. I said no. But this was because I was ignoring my skill sets and values.

When I got back, I began to make a name locally as a singer for parties and weddings, but the lure of stable money got me looking for alternative careers. Early childhood teaching was a suggestion by someone close to me, and I scoffed. They don’t make any money, you see. But then I learned that New Zealand early childhood teachers had recently been granted pay parity with primary school teachers (who obviously made so much more money…) A primary school teacher salary, at least, was liveable. And as I began to think of all the things I wanted from my dream job, I realised teaching pre-schoolers ticked basically all the boxes: a job I could do both indoors and outdoors; a job where I could be active; where I could work with people; where every day would be different; where my skills with writing would be utilised; where my artistic and musical skills would be utilised; where I could learn valuable life skills on the job; where I could conveniently juggle motherhood one day in the future; but above all, where I would feel morally at peace with the work I was doing because I would be giving back to the community.

Fastforward through three years of hard work, essay-writing and exams, with barely any of the usual coming-of-age juicy tales to tell about uni life. I guess I can throw in there that I met the love of my life, but I didn’t know he was that at the time! He is the reason I’m getting into the Cryptosphere though, so he deserves a passing mention.

IMG_5940 copy.jpg

A few weeks ago I arrived at 30 years of age, five years into my vocation as a teacher and finally ready to start making a difference, both within the network of families I support through my work, and with some luck and perseverance, through the Steemit network too. If you’re interested to join me on this journey as I record my observations on educating Millennials, then don’t forget to follow me in the link!

Thanks for reading and I look forward to sharing with you more in the weeks and months to come.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @ask.the.teacher! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit

Hi and welcome to both the steemit and SmartCash community, I have given you an upvote and a small #smartcash tip to find out more on smartcash and how it works be sure to read more here!
All the best with you steemit dreams and hope to see you as a new SmartCash community member soon. Much love for crypto @cryptoscout.

Σ$$$ Tipped @ask.the.teacher Σ2 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.105 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.21 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Thank you! How exciting, I'll have to learn all about smartcash now.

Glad to hear that.

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

@rosestar Thanks very much. I'll check it out - I have a lot of learning to do... Lucky I'm a teacher :P

Welcome! Hi! I’m also early-childhood trained and I’m currently home-schooling my four children! (Well, one is a baby, but I guess they are always learning too!!). I like to use Montessori ideas and methods as well as a mix of others including Charlotte Mason and things I remember from way back when I did my degree! Anyway. I’m in Adelaide so not too far away. Hope you enjoy it here on Steemit! I’ll follow along!

Oh wow, great to hear we've got a lot in common! Thanks for following. I'll return the favour, I'm sure we'll have notes to compare some time.

hi kathryn Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Hi..
I'm a school teacher too.
I'm a teacher for grade 4 in Bali, Indonesia.
I'll follow your steemit account to learn more about teaching especially in other country.

Kathryn,
Welcome and wish you all the best for your Steemit and teaching endeavors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42