Indroduce Yourself- I make dark humor...the end

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

It dawned on me today while looking through the Steemit feed, that I never did introduce myself. I just jumped on and started posting content.

I'm a writer/illustrator who specializes in Dark Humor.

I started my own independently published comic book Arsenic Lullaby many moons ago, and it's still going strong and growing. It's published in Greece under the name ΔΗΛΗΤΗΡΙΩΔΕΣ ΝΑΝΟΥΡΙΣΜΑ and in Μπλε Κομήτης ( Hello to any of my Greek friends on here!)

joegraveyard cvr.jpg

While doing that I've done freelance work for Mad Magazine for 6yrs or so

5supes.jpg

AAA1.jpg

done some covers for various Valiant comics

fAITHFFON.jpg

Did what I could to relaunch the Tick comic (Illustrating the first issue).

TICK MAIN COVER.jpg

2.jpg

and wrote some shorts for Comedy Central (the one in this vid was taken straight out of Arsenic Lullaby...with some changes made to me original script...shrug...what can you do, right?)

And done other stuff here and there. hey, just because i publish independantly don't mean I can't still take money from big faceless corporations to fund the war chest....it's only wise.

If my work has an old school feel to it, that's because I work old school. I ink entirely with a brush. "entirely" means entirely. Below are progress shots and short vids of me inking a mars Attacks illustration. if it looks nerve wracking, that's because it is...I just try not to think about it.

https://www.bitchute.com/video/Q0sBCREL1yXw/

https://www.bitchute.com/video/g3Rh6Mi6P3Tl/

mabg12.jpg

mabg13.jpg

mabig14.jpg

20180125_032419.jpg

MA1rfc.jpg

That's all for now...more posts and comics to come. I'll be throwing sneak previews and exclusives up here from time to time, before all the Luddites on other social media sites get to see them, because...I like it here.

Later

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

Sort:  

Really nice post thank you for sharing

Thanks for looking!

AE0BB32E-AE4B-4E09-9811-190BCABA4787.gif

Now I remember why I never introduced myself...I'm gonna get a shit ton of bots now aren't I.

Bingo! That’s ok, they’ll just harass you for this post... more so than usual that is.

that's what I get for trying to figure out local customs

I'm fan of your line. Astonishingly accurate.
Is there brush with pen rubber on one close-up photo (with soldier's head)?

Hello, and thanks! The brush I use is a windsor newton series 7 no.0 . the rubber thing on there is a piece of airline, it makes using the brush more comfortable and cramps you hand less. I explain it better here- https://www.instagram.com/p/BCulAe7HK8a/?taken-by=arsenic_lullaby_official
Hope that helps!

What a nice trick! I need to find my small brush, buy a hose and try it.
Thank you!

Hope it works for ya!

Well hello there, this dark humour thing you're doing is certainly up my alley. Looking forward to more comics from you 😼

Glad to hear it, I'll post more stuff here as I go along. stay tuned!

I'm no welcome bot. I am a guy who has been following your posts and really digs your work. Visually, sure, but the humor is sharp. You should do well here on Steemit.

hahaha! Yeah man, I know ya. thanks! Glad to hear you're still keeping an eye on me. I've got good stuff on the way leading up to Comic-con.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Welcome to steemit you breath of fresh air ;) STEEM AWAY!

Thanks ;) I will continue on!

Your stuff is fuckin' good bro. I'm glad you're here. I have a feeling I can't afford commissions though, lol.

ha! Thanks, man! I'm actually pretty reasonable on the cost of commissions...although I rarely do them. Mostly I just sell the original art from the work I do on my website. Not much time to do commissions :(

Well, if you're on discord it'd be great if you could hit me up at charitybot#8022!

Tried finding you there but nothin showed up (it is likely that I'm doing something wrong). I'll try again later today, or you can ring me at ArsenicLullaby#2207 !

No problem I'm a huge discord noob, I tried adding you and it says the request went through, I'll talk to you soon!

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Welcome to Steemit!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76