Cancer Survivor, Poet, Solitary Witch, Wait I hate Labels

22854540_1721817471184787_1045049320_n.jpg
So this is me, Teresa. 40 years old and no clue what I'm doing with my life. If I had a live narrator I am quiet sure at times she would be speaking in "face palm" if possible. Just like most anyone else on the plant my life has had ups and downs. The most recent of this was overcoming cervical cancer and the many things that go along with it. I've been cancer free for a year on October 31, 2017 and looking back, oddly enough, the blood loss and multiple transfusions, sickening chemo, brachytherepy (internal radiation) and external radiation wasn't the hardest part (though yes it was extremely hard). You sort of just go into survival mode, which if I may say comes in extremely handy if you want to kick cancer's ass and live.
chemo.png
No the hardest part is overcoming the mental beat down of it all. Cancer has this way of latching onto your every thought of everyday and when you're sick and exhausted from the poison that's trying to save you, you kind of just do nothing all day, and what that does is give your mind time to fester in the thought of "what if". So now enter depression, and I mean I'm sure it's a common thing that occurs after fighting such an evil disease but just like cancer the depression just crept up on me. Can you imagine fighting harder than hell to live and then being so mentally consumed with "what if's" that you just don't care if you live or die? Irony at it's ugliest and something had to give fast. I wasn't at the point that I would actively and consciously take my own life but let's be real here, if I was to the point that I didn't care if I got hit by a bus then how much longer would it take before I shoved a hand full of sleeping pills down my throat? Then of all the cliché things, I came across an inspirational quote on Facebook. It said "You cannot heal in the same environment you got sick". Light switch, face palm, DOH! So 40 years old, 2 sons and 2 dogs later, I moved in with my parents. IMG_4362.JPG
Now I am ready to get my own place again. It's hard to do witchy things with no privacy and understanding. Did I mention I was a witch? It's another thing that has pulled me through all of this, but I'll save that for another time. IMG_3354.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Nice to meet you. :-)
Upvoted and followed!

I hope you have lots of fun here and make many friends! :-)
Thank you for sharing! :-)
1BLKWHTUpvoted and Followed!.gif

Welcome Teresa, glad you're cancer free. Heres an upvote for kicking cancers arse.
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aroha-moana to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to steem! Really loved the introduction and looking forward to more posts! Like the voice in your post.Feel free to follow or contact me if you need anything!

welcome on board and feel free, hope you get well and be cured of cancer . this will be an awesome exterience, feel free to upvote and follow

Glad you got cured :) One advice i can give is you become like the people you surround yourself with. Surround yourself with positive people and you will become a positive person. Surround yourself with negativity and you will become a negative person. If you can beat cancer then you can beat anything in life because not everyone can get cancer so looks at the positive. Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy your stay!

Welcome to Steemit. Feel free to interact, ask questions where you are confused and have fun. @greatness96

Welcome. Great intro. You got this!
#FuckCancer

More power to you brave lady.... good luck with more positive progress.. happy to see you in Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit! There's quite a witchy presence here, so I'm sure you'll find you're niche quite soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42