Hello Steemit community

Am Arlyson Habe from Uganda. An I.t technician by profession though mostly specializing in System Administration. Am new on steemit, signed up after one of my workmates told me about this new site where you create your own content and actually get paid for it. I went ahead and read more about steemit, got excited as i went deeper into how to go about it. This pushed me to sign up without giving a second thought on it. And here i am, just got approved and saying something little about myself and where i come from.

Uganda where i come from is located in the Eastern part of Africa, a country known for its good climate which is tropical and generally rainy with two dry seasons. This supports lots of features some of which are represented in the country's court of arms as shown below.

IMG_20171109_163526.jpg
Me with the Uganda court of Arms.

Unfortunately selfie pictures are mirror images and thats why the words below the sculpture, which is the country's motto are flipped. But it reads 'FOR GOD AND MY COUNTRY'
Going briefly into the details of the sculpture, The shield in the middle, the spears on it and the drum at the bottom part of the shield stand for the cultural diversity in the country with over 30 different cultures each with its own language.

The blue and white stripes at the top part of the shield stand for the lakes, having 23 lakes in the country. Below that is the representation of the sun, which shows the condusive climate in the country. The blue and white stripes below the shield stand for the rivers with the country boasting of having the source of the largest river in the world, River Nile. On the sides of the shield are the representation of the creasted crane and kob, which stand for the wide variety of birds and wild animals in the country.

I love traveling and playing chess, a game i mostly play when am not working. Chess tops the list of my hobbies and i've played it for more than 10 years featuring in high school teams including the University team. And am now starting an individual professional career in the game. My first tournament being the Uganda Chess Open which ended on 12th/Nov/2017, which was yesterday.

IMG_20171109_164608.jpgIMG_20171109_164558.jpg
My second opponent of the tournament. I drew the game.

I'll be sharing more about myself and what i do in the next posts as i also create content. This is a great experience i've been looking forward to. And am also starting to spread the word of STEEMIT for more people to join just like i also got the word from a friend.

Big up steemit community

Sort:  

Welcome

Hello Arlyson Habe :) I am Peter . Welcome to Steemit :) . I like to play chess too, but I am not so pro as you probably are :) . Keep posting nice stuff - I am now, and I will upvote and follow you :)
at least at start, when I have not too many people to follow and enough time to do it.
Have a nice day and good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53