¡Hello Steemians!

¡Hello #steemians!

My name is Arlette, I am photographer and visual artist, born and raced in the Caracas-Venezuela, where "everything is possible". Some periods of the year I visit Buenos Aires where my daughter @arichuna22 lives. The past 10 years I've been dedicated to teach photography at La Escuela Foto Arte (EFA) @escuelafotoarte, with my husband and my EFA family. I am surviver, stubborn and control freak.

For me photography is a reflection, a way of seeing and experiencing life. Through it I adopt a way of facing my personal world, from which I abstract myself through a frontal, neutral and apparently unpleasant look. The temporal and the atemporal are themes that recur in my visual reflections, sometimes structured and sometimes from drifting, with fundamental stops in emptiness, solitude, identity and body. In my visual diaries I document myself under the magnifying glass of everyday life, sometimes as an experiment of affection for spaces or people, or as evidence of the passage of time.

¿What do I want to share with you here?

A little of everything, what I like, attracts me and love. How I live, what I have lived, my surroundings. My everyday life in the country of fury. After having worked with visual diaries for several years, with image and text #Steemit will be my new #VisualDiary

I also will share photography, visual art and movie facts and information.

Captura de pantalla 2018-01-27 a las 8.19.00 p.m..png
This is me. Wherever I go I am a venezuelan and I am proud of it. I don't change the way I talk (sometimes I do), I smile, eat "arepas", dance "salsa" and clap when I am happy.

Captura de pantalla 2018-01-27 a las 8.31.30 p.m..png

I live here. I introduce you to Caracas, or a vision of the troubled and convulsed Caracas. Smoke, barricades, flyers, political propaganda, protestants and asphalt.

Captura de pantalla 2018-01-27 a las 8.40.19 p.m..png
This is the price of 45 litres of gasoline. It is 240 bolivars, or US$ 0,0009. See what I mean when a say that everything is possible here?

¡Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wait? Why is the Gasoline price so weird? I am rather uninformed about the Venezuela situation.

And welcome to Steemit.

Hi @archive.xyz thank you for your welcome! Why is the gasoline price so weird? That is a good question!. There is several reasons some venezuelans use to explain that, but for me none of them are really the right answer. You will always hear Venezuela is the country with the largest oil reserves in the world and for that for us is very cheap to produce gasoline. That is so unaccurate: it is true we have the largest reserves of oil in the world and we are a significant oil exporter (every day much less significant) but domestic refining capacity is minimal. So the government export oil obtaining foreign currency and use some of the money to buy gasoline at international prices. The real reason for such ridiculous gas prices - almost free - are massive subsidies sustained for decades. Despite the international price the government pay for gas, they sell it to people at very low price to avoid riots, protests and an economic and social out break. In 1989 under very bad economic conditions the government "dare" to raise the price and deadly riots ocurred with more than 3.000 people died or disappeared. Since then no one dare to touch the gasoline prices and the subsidies are more $ 12 billion per year. I call it populism as that is the cost - one of them - of keeping the people's support. I hope this information help, I know it sounds unbelievable but it is the sad truth. I will posting more about my "magical" country. :)

Wow, that is so surreal. Thank you so much for writing this, this is very enlightening.

Oh yeah, in Venezuela there are so many surreal things happening :/ . Thanks for ypur interest!

Welcome to Steemit

welcome to steemit where all the interesting writing will be get the rewads

Thanks! I will posting in spanish and english so I hope you enjoy it!

😊welcome!follow me, good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81