I, Paleocon

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Extra credit if my title reminds you of I, Libertine. Even more if you misremember it as I, Libertarian. Now that I think of it, Roger Stone, Libertarian of yore, actually calls himself a Libertine.

A decade ago I had my Paleocon year. A fellow I knew from the Russian church was working for a right wing think tank I had belonged to as an undergraduate -- not YAF, but the other one, the one for people who read books -- had been tasked with getting Taki's Top Drawer off the ground, which he was doing under an assumed name. I was one of a select group -- Catholic losers, he called them -- from whom he solicited essays. (I had recently published something on Parabola on the Quaker contribution to America.)

I contributed a dozen or so until Taki's friends and followers complained violently about my lack of race consciousness, and about other things which are none of your business. I met my editor for a belly dance show under a sushi bar on St. Marks Place, and he told me he had just been fired with out reason being given, and replaced with one Richard Spencer.

Heil Tila!

Yesterday I was catching up with a college friend, and promised to send him a link to the essay on patriotism which provoked the reaction, and I thought, why not send him the link to all of them?

And today I think, why not share it with you?

http://takimag.com/contributor/FPurcell/34

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, arisbe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39