Frank Palmer Purcell Steems Up!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hello Steemworld.

Yes, I've been around. Tripod, Blogger, LiveJournal, MySpace, Facebook, Posterous, and a couple of others even I don't remember. On the net before I was connected at home. In fact I remember coding in pencil on fourteen inch legal pads on subways and buses on my way to upload from a place called Alt Dot Coffee around the corner from Skincrawl Boutique in the East Village. My day job involved teaching adult basic education to troubled kids. My boss, a Marxist who was pretty troubled himself, insisted we learn the Internet, so by the time I got thoroughly sick of him I was testing on line interfaces for securities custody clients of a Wall Street bank. That was fine until a guy crashed a plane across the street. Bunch of guys, actually, two planes. Chances are you heard.

So a guy at the Russian Church connected me with a gig as a college reviewer (higher education was my first master's degree) and occasional cultural commentator on the Web. Poor fellow got himself fired from the website for publishing an essay I wrote on patriotism, which wasn't racist enough -- and for other things as well. The guy who replaced him as editor went on to start a scam he called the Alt Right, and went on to get his picture taken with one Tila Tequila giving the Hitler salute in honor of the 2016 President Elect. No politics today, and damned little ideology.

I must love writing for the Web -- I have done it so long for free! It's not because I love Facebook blue and whatever color LiveJournal was before I tried to turn it to my high school colors and got it black and green instead. I only do FB because somebody paid me two hundred bucks to explore its vast rightwing underbelly. And that's not as vastly amusing as it was back in the day.

Catch y'all later.

Sort:  

Hey. Welcome to steemit. You seem really interesting, I enjoyed reading your introduction. I think you'll do well on here. Good luck! Upvoted and I followed you as well.

Thank you! I did the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39