Hello, Steemolopolans (did I get that right?)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I'm migrating here from Minds.com, as these two locations (and possibly medium/newslogue, my jury is still out) seem to be the last two major bastions of truly free and uncensored speech.

If someone had told me 10 years ago I'd be uttering those words about the state of the internet, I'd have slapped them across the face with a glove and demanded pistols at dawn, labeling them a sensationalist blasphemer. And yet. . . here we are.

Most of my writings will be on topics of politics, culture, philosophy, history, and gov't. I truly believe our nation is approaching something of a civil war, the degeneration into rule of the jungle and absolute chaos, as the kakistocracy of globalist/internationalist finance attempts to maintain its stranglehold on power, destroying our middle class, engaging in military adventurism to line the pockets of a military industrial complex truly outside the law, answering to no one, operating with a complete lack of checks and balances.

I've obsessively followed this slow motion car crash for well over a decade, and feel I can't in good conscience sit on the sidelines and remain silent any longer, fiddling while Rome burns, parroting the tired refrain 'I'm just one man. . .'

Although I'm deadly serious with regards to the subject manner I hope to bring to the table, I hope to inject some levity and tell a bad joke from time to time as well. . so stay tuned for that, those who appreciate sub-par humor from a place of barely-restrained anger. This is the niche I'm aiming at.

But I jest. Mostly. I try my damndest to operate from a place of love, aiming for the noble, lofty, avoiding ignoble hatred and pettiness. I won't always succeed, I promise. . . I'm a passionate person, I tend to think and feel deeply. Deep down I know full well that all great things come from a place of love

I'll be blunt, I am here to cultivate a following, to influence, to cause a net-positive effect on hearts and minds, insofar as I'm able. If you should resonate with anything I say, please stay tuned. I invite any/all comments and questions, I love a good discussion, even with polar-oppositely-oriented minds, if the ultimate aim is truth or curiosity, and not to walk away feeling like we've 'bested' the other.

So. . 'hello', then! Happy to be here, and very interested to see what might come of it.

(edit: I've just been informed its actually 'Steemolopopolans'. I apologize, and hang my head in shame. Noted.)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @aretelaughter I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Much appreciated. Any advice on what to read/watch to get my bearings as to just how this place works, and how to best navigate and make use? Thanks again.

Did I just talk to a bot like a real human being. . . somebody help, before things spiral further out of hand. . .

welcome Aretelaughter to Steemit! Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Congratulations!

Ty, happy to finally be here.

Congratulations @aretelaughter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome! Hope you enjoy Steemit! I joined last June and I am really happy with our community! I am a Brazilian writer and journalist, living in London. Here I post about photography, travelling and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44