You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Steemit Intro!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Steemit mate.

Glad to see a personal trainer, followed you - hoping to see some quality fitness content, I'll follow you as long as your content is good, or until I find someone better related to personal training.

I'm starting to get into shape myself and I am wondering about gaining mass (I am doing body weight fitness) and I have been drinking protein shakes and eating more, but I am wondering if there is any other things you could add on or recommend thanks.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey man, appreciate the follow & I hope to keep providing you with some quality content.

As for gaining mass, this is a slow process and requires a lot of dedication. The maximal amount of lean tissue mass gain (muscle) per week for someone who is natural (not using steroids) is around 150grams so this is something to bare in mind. To gain mass you're going to need to be in a caloric surplus and there is no set guide as metabolism varies from person to person, my suggestion would be to keep slowly adding food in daily until to start gaining about 200g in weight a week which is a good lean bulk gain. As for protein I recommend an intake between 1.2-1.5g per 450g of bodyweight to ensure you have enough available for protein synthesis within the muscle which allows it to repair and grow.
The final point is with training, you need to really push yourself and stimulate the muscle as much as possible in order for it to respond and grow. I would say as you progress with your bodyweight work it would pay to join a gym and do some resistance based training if your goal is to really bulk up.

Hope this a little help and stay tuned for more posts about training and nutrition,

Thank you for the response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52