Hello Steemians, another redfish is born

Hello Steemit, I am Sofowora Michael. I am a 200 level student of Microbiology at Oduduwa University Ipetumodu, Osun State, Nigeria. I am the second child and only son of my parents three children (That does not make me a spoilt brat though).

I was brought up in Lagos, Nigeria where I acquired my primary and secondary school education.

I am a member of Oduduwa University Drama Troupe (OUDT), which is my school's official drama troupe. I joined the troupe after watching the play that was staged for last year's convocation ceremonies which was titled "The wives". I have to admit that I was extremely impressed with the play, hence my decision to join the troupe.

I was invited to Steemit by @illuminatus who is my friend and a former executive of OUDT. He introduced me to Steemit in July but I did not take him seriously.

While introducing Steemit to me, @illuminatus explained it to me as "Facebook on Steroids". He told me about a platform where one could be paid for blogging. About a year ago, Nigeria was overrun with several ponzi schemes which paid people initially but later put several more to tears. This made me scared of anything about making money online.

I have seen other people who were introduced to Steemit by @illuminatus and they have all attested to the beauty of the platform. I attended the Steemit In Nigeria event which held at Obafemi Awolowo University and I was further enlightened about Steemit. I tried opening an account but I did not receive an email to approve my account. I complained about this to @illuminatus and he took my email, telling me that there was a topshot here on Steemit who would aid me with my registration. That topshot is @demotruk and I am quite grateful to him for the help he has rendered to me.

I am finally here on Steemit and I hope that I can impact the community positively, make friends and probably also make some money like my forebears.

Once again, I am Sofowora Michael and I am happy to be on Steemit.
image

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks a lot @trogdor, I'm grateful

Welcome to steemit! It is great to have you here!

Also cool to hear that you got referred to steemit by someone else, it is nice to see the community grow :)

Hope you can contribute with some unique value as you suggest:) steem on!

Thanks a lot @fredrikaa, I'll try not to let you down

Welcome to Steem Community :), So glad you've joined and I'm looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Thanks for the welcome @abiisu, I would try my best not to let you down.

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thanks for the tips @thauerbyi, I really appreciate your kind gesture.

welcome here wish you have a good time

Welcome to Steemit, Thank you for this presentation. I hope you enjoy the Steemit universe. Looking forward to discover you. Thank you

Welcome to steemit enjoy it

Thanks @bobskibob, I also hope I enjoy it.

Welcome on Steemit dear @archdemon! :)
Great introduceyourself post! It's so cool you are in a drama troupe! Would love to see you playing your role one day :)

I am sure you'll make a lot of friends here and you will love it! I started yesterday and already feel so welcome and thankful to be a part of this community :)

I wish you the very best and lots of succesful posts on Steemit :)

Best regards, Linda from Germany :)

Thanks a lot Linda for the words, I also hope that you get to see a play of mine some day.

@archdemon that would be amazing and an honor to me! :) :) :)

Welcome on board man, I'm glad I could finally convince you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08