WHY You Would Want To Follow This Singaporean On Steemit!

Hello, my name is Arcadius Derrick (My full name is a lot longer, people usually just call me Derrick). I am an  aspiring entrepreneur, a student of life, a marketer, and a serious addict of the power of words.

This is a photo of me taken by one of my really talented friend and photographer.

Currently I am serving my national service. If you do not know what it is, basically  National Service in Singapore, (commonly known as NS), is a statutory requirement for all male Singaporean citizens and second-generation permanent residents to undergo a period of compulsory service in the uniformed services. 

If you would want to read more, you can go to this link,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_service_in_Singapore

Prior to that I was going to school like everybody else. During my academic days in Nanyang Polytechnic, I joined the cheerleading club which was one of the big life changing decisions that I made.(I'll elaborate more about how cheerleading changed my life for the better in a future post)

Here a photo of my team during a cheerleading competition. (photo credits: SQ Photography)

For those who have not seen cheerleading before, it is definitely not what you think it is. 

One Of The Core Pillars That Made Me Who I am Today

How I became the person I am today is really through attraction... What do I mean by that? I'm talking about the law of attraction. 

During the age of 16, I was having a movie marathon of my own on a streaming website. Somehow, I landed on "The Secret" documentary. At first, I didn't know what it was and halfway through the film I took out a notebook and restarted the whole film. 

I made my first vision board and from then on, life was never the same again. 

Months after that, I attended a program called the Entrepreneur Action Program. It is basically a 2-week course on entrepreneurship. We learnt the basics of marketing, getting funding, and the essentials of creating s successful business. We got into teams to see which group could make the most money at the end of the course. 

My team came in second with about $2k odd in profit after two weeks.

(Here's a photo of me and my team, not a very good one as we didn't have a good camera at that time.)

The Journey Begin

From that period onward, I started on a lifelong journey on personal development in all the core areas of life. I went to networking sessions and read a ton of books. But the most life changing move I could make was to get a mentor, someone who is a bridge between where I am and where I want to be. 

So What's Going On Now?

As I am writing this, I am still serving my national service and I am not allowed to have any kind of business. But what I want to do is to share with you all the learning that I have in the hopes that it can help add value to amazing readers like you out there. 

Why Follow Me?

Aside from the life hacks and tips which I believe you guys will benefit a lot from me, I will be also setting up contests month where sweet readers like you can stand a chance to win items that are worth up to $500(The budget for contest prizes will increase as my following increase).

Where To Follow?

At the minimum, click my name on Steemit and Follow me. 

If you'd like, I've created a sub Facebook Profile where you can follow me on.

If you love writings, you can see random thoughts on my WerdSmith Page.

 

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us! I'll follow you and I left you an upvote!

Thank you! Just followed you too!

Amazing story! I would love to see more. :)

Hey Taylor! Thank you :) Make sure to follow me so that you can stay updated for my contents & contest!

Will do! :P

great post! i love your positive attitude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43