You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello steemians? steemers?

Hey there @intangir welcome to steem! It's cool to see someone who values freedom and is annoyed with censorship, I just got censored on Facebook again the other day and I've been banned many times over there. Never once had a problem over here! Though I have heard of a few who went a bit too far and while they may have been banned from steemit or other front ends, there's others ways to access the steem blockchain if you know how.

seemed like most peoples idea of debate or discussion was telling you your stupid and dismissing everything you say..

Lol! Yeah.. Pretty much. I struggle with this on a regular basis, seems like most people are incapable of having a genuine discussion and just wanna tell other people how they think it is, even when it comes to things they can likely never be able to prove.

there is only like 1 or 2 politicians that ever remotely use logical lines of reasoning based on principles to arrive at their conclusions in office today. Rand Paul, and sometimes Ted Cruz. Prove me wrong ;)

I'm sort of in agreement here except I don't like Rand Paul anymore and I never liked Ted Cruz.. BUT.. There are a few like them and a few others who are LESS bad than the rest. I vibe with the term voluntaryist though I am also fine using the word anarchist to describe myself as I think it's good to stick up for meaningful words and not just shed them when a lot of controversy surrounds them. But.. I have certainly at times considered not labeling myself as certain things just because there's so much vitriol surrounding those subjects.

Any advice?

My main advice would be to find communities and contests to be a part of, they can make your experience here on steem a lot more rewarding and enjoyable. @steemitbloggers is a good one I think and there's a contest/community I'm part of and that I help run called the IFC or Information Finding Championship which I think is sorta similar to the ideas of voluntaryism. We consider everyone an equal and as much as I disagree with voting as mob rule, we do vote on important issues in the community. Myself and a few others do have more power in some ways as we own the community and there needs to be some guidance and direction, however we do our best to make it feel like everyone matters and that everyone has a voice and we decide as a community where we go into the future for the most part. Only rarely do I ever decide anything by myself or with the other co owners. And.. The community centers around a game.. Sorta like the UFC except instead of physically fighting we compete in a mental challenge to bring back information on various subjects, we also have a marketplace where people can P2P buy and trade and sell with each other and we once again want it to be as free as possible so we don't get involved unless something illegal happens and thankfully nothing illegal has happened and hopefully never does. If you'd like to learn more or try to join please feel free to ask and I'll do my best to help. You can also check out this link below to get an idea of what it's like.

https://steemit.com/contest/@ifc/ifc-season-2-round-5-choose-your-own-adventure

It's kinda slow right now cause steem in general is slow with the low crypto value, but I think in time it will pick up again and right now we have a pretty good group of people who are very supportive and who often comment and leave feedback and it's a good place to make friends I think. :)

Other advice would be.. Socialize and go to other peoples pages and leave comments and also to go to the #introduceyourself tag and talk to other newcomers and make friends with other new people, I still do this from time to time and that's what I'm doing right now. :)

And finally just put out good content to build up your followers. It'll probably be slow at first as I said steem in general is rather slow right now, but I think in time when the market HOPEFULLY goes back up things will be popping again. Unfortunately many people are here just for the money instead of the lack of censorship so when the value is down they disappear and come back when the value is high, even though it's an even BETTER time to earn steem when the value is low.. Many don't seem to understand that. However.. Many are also trying to use this place as a way to make a living and when the value is so low that's really difficult unless you live in the 3rd world somewhere. So.. Having good expectations is important as well. If you're here to make money you might end up being disappointed, though if you're here to escape old social media and meet cool people and escape censorship you'll probably do a lot better and probably make more money in the long run too. Good luck on here and if you have any questions feel free to ask! I'll do my best to help and if I can't help maybe I can find someone who can. Cheers. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67