You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Change Name of Columbus, Ohio, named for Epstein of the 1500s, to Arawak, Ohio, Accepting STEEM!!!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

That's an interesting initiative and I learned a few new things, not necessarily surprising things but I hadn't quite thought a lot about the parallels between modern human trafficking and historical human trafficking. There's definitely some strong similarities and it some ways not much has changed! Sadly and unfortunately... I was just reading an article the other day about how much of a problem human males being trafficked is and how it's so underreported in comparison to females cause oftentimes men won't report and don't want to be seen as a victim, but that there's a significant problem there that not many people really know much about.

Anyways.. I support your initiative and I agree with it. Sadly I kind of doubt you will succeed because I get the impression most people don't like change and aren't really very ashamed of our history or even what happens in modern times for that matter... Just not enough people really care in general and that's a big problem in my opinion... I think some of these people would possibly even be more offended by wanting to change the name of an established city than human trafficking itself which is bizarre to think about, but so many people are so adverse to change and so comfortable with the status quo that they seem content to do nothing while atrocity happens and then get upset when people actually try to point it out and make a positive difference in the world.

So... I hope I'm wrong and that your initiative suceeds! Though I think you have a steep uphill battle ahead of you... Good luck my friend! I wish you well in your efforts.

PS I'm filling out the Google Form URL petition thing now.

Sort:  

Thx, bud, just trying ti finalize a few things before publicly starting the movement. I hope the summer has been going well for you. Hopefully have everything ready by end of next week.

You're welcome, and thanks to you as well! It's been a hot summer, but pretty memorable and good as well. I'm looking forward to cooler temperatures! Good luck with your project and efforts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58968.99
ETH 2825.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24