The life of a sound engineer!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I never studied in music school and music Institute, but I've always loved to do music!

In childhood I had a favorite songs which I listened to on tapes in the old tape recorder "electronics". Then I began to think about how to make music, but I was still a child and certainly don't understand.

When I was 15 years old, my parents bought me a computer, it had windows 95 and when I found the sound recorder in it, I was thrilled! I connected a microphone to the computer and recorded my voice. I didn't like how it sounds, but it was cool. I started recording everything, I had taken the computer to different rooms and recorded different things in different acoustics. Later I changed the entry in the program. It was not allowed to do much, only speed up and slow down, process the EQ and nothing more.


From the moment I began to learn how to work the recorder and how sound behaves in different conditions. Unfortunately then there was no Internet and there was not a lot of information on this subject. I had to learn everything myself.


At 18, when I was in College to be an economist I met a guy, we studied on the same course. His name was Alex, but he called himself "Guf". He composed a rap and was able to read it. I told him that I have a little recording studio at home and I can write music and record songs. So we created a group called "Rolex-x". RO - Roma (It's me), LE - Lesha (like Alex, it is the same in Russian) and X-X as HIP-HOP ("ХИП-ХОП" in Russian). We began to record songs.


Once Guf said that he had a friend who worked for a radio station and we need to show him our songs. I said that our songs are not suitable for radio, it's not professionally recorded I think, but I'll try to make a song for radio. We really worked hard to make this song. When the song was finished we took it to the radio, we were told it was going to listen and if necessary will take to the air. We went to Guf's home to turn on the radio. We listened to it all day and waited for our song, but it was not.


In the evening I said that we have failed. I went home and was upset. I was minding my own business at home when I called Guf. He said "quick turn on the radio!" I had heard were playing our song! It was incredible! We rejoiced and congratulated each other! This evening Guf became famous аnd I realized that I was a good composer and sound producer.


We have to work even harder and we started the concerts. Guf appeared on the scene, and I was a DJ and a sound engineer. Once Guf got acquainted with another well-known group. They said that they like our songs and they want to work with Guf. I didn't like these guys because they were drug addicts, and heroin use. I said about it by Guf, but he wouldn't listened to me. He said it was a chance to become really famous. He began to work with these guys and also began to use heroin and stopped to chat with me because I didn't want to use heroin and I didn't like these guys. But he was right, he became very famous in Russia. The most popular rapper. His songs took first places in the hit parades. His group is called the "Center" since that time.

(He had a tour in America spring 2016).


(The fall of 2003.)


At the time I was 22. I have saved the money to make recording studio not at home. It was a small, not very professional but cozy studio. At the time, I knew many musicians in Moscow, they knew what I was doing songs for a Guf, it is well appreciated my work and came to my studio so I was their sound engineer.




I've owned this Studio to 2012. Then I saved money and decided to make a new, large Studio which is owned now.

At first it looked so


Now


This is a very well-known actors in Russia. Dima Miller and Maxim Averin.



The life of the famous sound producer is very fun! I was invited to parties, were treated with alcohol, offered drugs and wanted me to meet and hang out! I took many recreational drugs and alcohol (I'll talk about this in another post). I rarely was home. All the time I spent at the Studio - worked or hung out.


Many people envy me when they find out I'm a sound engineer. They said, "Oh cool! This is a very easy job, you don't have to do. Only push buttons!".... But they do not realize that in fact it is very hard to record a song. I read one study which has established that the work of a sound engineer is like a surgeon. You have to be very concentrated and do everything right. If there is an error, the job will be spoiled. If you want to understand how sound engineer works, make a note in your player 1 song and listen to it 12 hours without a break. It doesn't have to be your favorite song! )) So you do not understand the complexity of the work, but some idea will get.


Now I have a dream to make a new Studio, even better! Something like this


I love movies as well! I write scripts and started making films three years ago! It requires a lot of time and money and work goes slowly because I have no sponsor. All the money I earn on music, I invest in my film. This film is about a man who consumed a lot of drugs and alcohol and went crazy. He came for treatment in a mental hospital. I play a major role, I am a person who has gone mad.






In 2013 I learned about bitcoin and became it fan! Now I love steemit all my free time is spent in steemit. I hope this post is interesting, I will get upvote and will be able to continue work on the film even faster! I will talk about it in the movie! Steemit be my sponsor! ))

Sort:  

Thank you! I wanted to talk about something else when I started, but when I wrote remember these things! )

I feel bad for the millennials , they will never experience the joy of listening to their favorite music recorded off the radio to an old, abused cassette tape. That hiss is pure nostalgia to me.

That is a really good tip particularly to those new to the steem. Brief but very precise info... Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

Wow! Thank you for story!

Glad to have you around!

The people may be made to follow a path of action, but they may not be made to understand it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36