You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Did I Go Skydiving????

Ive been on 25 jumps in my life and I can sum it down to two phases as well, the "Oh shit" phase and the "This shit is for real" phase.

I was a paratrooper in the 82nd airborne division so I had a lot of fun jumping from airplanes, but we hit the ground at 24mph so we couldn't land standing up, we had to roll.

I have always wanted to do a civilian jump, but now that I have survived 25 military jumps, I am counting my lucky charms, might never jump again.

Sort:  

What was the highest you ever jumped from? I got to jump from 13,500 since I was in S. Florida. If I had the money/time I'd get certified to solo jump. And what about those people who do those wingsuit jumps. Now that's really flying like a bird.

13500 is very high, like the height of a tall mountain. As a paratrooper, we only jumped from a maximum of 1200 feet, but sometimes we would jump as low as 500. It was a quick trip, which I assume was that way because they wanted us to get on the ground as fast as possible.

I can't imagine jumping from 500 feet. That barely gives you time to get ready to roll.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65