From being a Stutterer to being a Solo Traveler - My background introductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

Growing up I was insecure to the point of not being able to speak to other people to avoid stuttering. When I finally convinced my mom to order pizza I couldn´t call the pizza shop myself because I wholeheartedly believed that the person on the other side of the phone would laugh at my stuttering. I was 8 years old and was so worried at what other people would think of me when meeting me that I chosed to be a loner. 

My brother is three years younger than me. When I was twelve I used to spend my weekends playing video games while he was outside playing ball or engaging our neighbours. I got so nervous when people rang the door because I didn´t want to speak to other people. I remember one time when he got bullied by some kids my age on my neighbourhood, he came crying to me and I had to gather all of my courage and went out and stood up for him. I am a black belt on tae-kwon-do since I am 16 but at that time I was only a green belt but still, I took care of both of them and that was it, noone ever again bullied my brother. But I was still bullied by older kids.

Yes, I loved that Dracula costume.

Another thing, I grew up in Mexico´s social circle where being white and/or blonde was the norm. My brother came out white but I came out a little darker and that played a significant role on my life. I used to be bullied because of my stuttering but also because of my skin color.

Of course i had other costumes!!

I went to a psychologist and she said I was stuttering because my mind was going twice as fast as my capacity of speaking so my brain would get confused and chose to give me time to react by stuttering. Great job, useless brain.

I was already thirteen and I started to get interested in girls. Yeah, imagine that, this not so handsome kid with a dirt moustache (I didn´t shaved back then) having all this psychological burden on his back trying to speak to girls. Back on my day you used to call the girl´s house and ask to speak with her. As you may have guessed, I tried it once and that was it, I didn´t do it again until I was like eighteen.

Highscool came and I was decided to stop being this person. I just couldn´t take it anymore. Actually girls started to have an interest on me but I just couldn´t even speak to them and when I could, all of the magic was gone and they just got this look on their face like Is this dude for real?

I had friends, I wasn´t a total reject (even though I should have been) and I was playing an important role on my gang everytime girls weren´t around. Here is a pic of my crew back in middle school.

But that had to change. For real, you black stutter (that is how a bully used to call me when I was thirteen). So one summer I decided to come back a differente person. I started to read outloud in front of the mirror, to try and speak with anyone who dared to do it on the streets, I even called a few random numbers on the phone (which my mom found out and grounded the food out of me). But the challenge was already confronted, I had to return to sophomore year a new person. It took a lot of courage but also I had to realize that I had a problem and if I wanted to fix it I had to take the bull by its horns.

It worked. It freaking worked.

I started to gain confidence and to believe in myself and that played a mayor role on my stuttering. I still had it but I even found ways to hide it. When I knew it was coming (as a stutter you just know it) I would coff or yawn and allow me to gain air and stop my thinking for a second. It was working!!

Yes, it worked.

Anyway, highschool was awesome after that. I thought of me as a new person and with everything to gain and nothing to loose. Here i am with my highschool crew where I was a very important member if not the leader (yes, I even changed schools).

From then on, everything changed, in college I even got a girlfriend and it went though for three years. We were in love and she showed me a lot about relationships. Also it meant a lot for me because she was the first white girl I could convince to be my girlfriend.

But with that confidence, the drinking started. Being 22 years old and having this perfect life... It all started to dissappear... 

But you´ll know all about it on my next post, for now just...

Remember, Be Here Now

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit.

Awesome post! My father who is from Panama is a stutterer when he gets upset. He speaks English, but then he quickly stutters in Spanish when he stressed. I am so happy that you had the courage to post this because it will help so many others who are scared. Steem on bro!

Thanks man! Among all of the bots that reply to introduce yourself posts I somehow didn´t see you comment. Yes, when you speak in other languages it is kind of easier to not fall for the stuttering! :D thakns for your comment, i istarted following you.

Let me welcome you to this awesome place Anomadsoul . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help feel free to contact or follow me :-)

hi @Anomadsoul!! Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit!! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @mekong !

Anomadsoul - welcome to steemit. Hope you will enjoy blogging on steemit!
We are also new and will start soon with daily sportsbetting tipps!

Hello @anomadsoul. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hi !
This is an automatic message.
According to SteemData, you have now used #introduceyourself 6 times.

You might not be aware of this, but #introduceyourself is mainly used by new accounts, to introduce themselves once. Please consider other, appropriate tags.

Thanks my friendly bot, I only use intro tag when introducing new steempals and myself, as your owner may read later, this is an intro post of my background.

This is a great bot by the way, trying to mediate the improper use of this tag. Thank you for that mate.

Welcome to Steemit @anomadsoul!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to steemit. I hope you enjoy you experience.

This post gets a 1.25 % upvote thanks to @ausbitbank - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45