Nearly everyone gets this wrong and how I discovered why I did too on a paradise Island!

santorini.jpg

One of the things I omitted to mention when I wrote my very first post on here was that I love reading, and I love travelling. I'll devour any book I can get my hands on and was recently lucky enough to pay a visit to the paradise Greek Island of Santorini, where unexpectedly I was able to combine two of my passions.

santorini 3.jpg

Santorini is famous for its stunning whitewashed architecture, perfect climate and amazing sunsets. But when I heard about a bookshop with a story of its own I had to pay it a visit. It's called Atlantis Books and is a gem of a place! http://atlantisbooks.org

American friends Craig Walzer and Oliver Wise arrived in Santorini in 2002, ran out of books to read and, knowing there was no local bookshop, over wine, decided to open their own bookshop. You can read a more detailed story here: http://www.littleobservationist.com/atlantis-santorinis-coolest-bookshop/

One of the books I picked up there was James Ball's 'Post Truth - How Bullshit Conquered The World'. It's about how we're all predisposed to believe what read on social media, if it agrees with our own values. In the book is where I found this little gem of a test of how our brains really work.

Post truth.jpeg

So, answer me this easy maths question:

A bat and a ball together cost $1.10. The bat costs $0.10 more than the ball. What does the ball cost?

Please leave your answer as a comment and follow me to be sure to get the answer later tonight (or early tomorrow - I'm in the UK and my radio show starts at 8pm) Believe it or not nearly everyone gets this wrong.

I was actually shocked by this experiment, so much so that I'm going to test it again on my radio show this evening to see if my results are typical. If you want to hear how it goes you can listen live just after 9pm UK time. http://wave105.com/listen

Sort:  

Love these hihi. 5 cents :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74