Hello Steemit!! I am Anand

I am Anand Prasad. I am from India and currently working as Software Engineer in Test in Expedia.
I am a foodie person and sweets tempt me a lot. I love running and cycling and now running is my necessity not just an exercise.

I am sharing my own story of how I got into running:
Because of the awesome food served in our organization, I gained more than 10kg. Having diabetes in my family history my extra fat started worrying me. I never want to stop eating sweets by any reason.
One day as daily routine my father was getting ready for his evening walk. My wife teased me and said I should learn from him, at the age of 64 he is more fit than me.
Then I also got ready and went with him for evening walk. When we entered the park, suddenly a thought came into my mind let’s check if I can run. you won’t believe, that day I ran around 4km. And I was so happy, however the speed was so slow that I could not chase people taking brisk walk. Then I thought if I can run 4k on my first run then I be a good runner.
And till now I have run 1960k in just 253 runs with a decent pace and without any injury.

After running for few months, I set my goal to eat more sweets if I run more. And started running 10K. I have run 7 half marathons and don’t remember no. of 10k.
Meanwhile my friend told to start cycling and we both bought cycle of same brand same color and started roaming near by places on cycles. I feel cycling is another best exercise to keep body and mind fresh. My longest run is around 150Km. Now am more into running.

Few Pics of my Cycling:

India Gate, Delhi(50KM up and down)

JNU University, Delhi [50 km up and down].

Murthal, Haryana (150 Km up and down)

And my maximum distance covered on cycle is 150 KM.

Now I use to say that running is more than an exercise for me. It has become my necessity.
I thank my father and my wife for being my motivation.
I feel very proud that all my half marathons are completed alone. I did not run with any group of people. I start strava (running app) and keep running until completed.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,
I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you Anand !:)
Enjoy your time here & Good Luck

Thank You @digital-gypsy!

Love to learn from your post here.

Start following and talk to the people here and the trend is going up :-)
all the best !

Hey and welcome to steemit, I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :)

Thank you Daniel.

Community is made great by great people like you. So keep sharing great posts :)

A person with sound body, heart and mind welcome to steemit brother .. keep the health streak on would like to read some related stories as post .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around .

Budy.. best part of life's work is Enjoy Food...

True. And I believe that we should know what we eat and the fitter we are, the more positively we can deal with challenges.

Hello there @anand-prasad and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet!!!

Follow & upvote

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome to the Steem community, Anand ;)

Thank you @lazariko12. Keep sharing informative posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65651.70
ETH 2676.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91