Moniker Amalgam

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello, I go by Amalgam . A little about me:

  • my first computer was a Packard Bell

  • my current dish of choice is a good Biriyani (mutton if they got it, otherwise fish, or veggie)

  • I got a "higher" education in math and computer science (probably cause i didn't understand people or the whole 'words' thing)

  • I've always felt like English was my 2nd language (I'm still undecided as to what my 1st language is)

  • Eventually i decided to leave no stone unturned in order to figure out the underlying programming of myself and all the wild little automatons that i (in elementary school) felt ran around me on the playground

  • currently I don't have Internet other than on my phone

  • off the top of my head I've been to 8 countries outside of the US

  • my favorite job was either being a cashier at a sourdough bakery on the wharf in San Fran or bartending in London

  • my last theater movie was either Bladerunner 2049 or Loving Vincent

  • last concert was Canadian band, Do Make Say Think

  • my #1 life hack is a good Swiss pressure cooker

  • my last fb post was to myself for future reading (http://www.cbc.ca/radio/asithappens/as-it-happens-thursday-edition-1.4466385/harvard-undergrad-cracks-code-of-knotted-inca-rope-used-as-an-ancient-excel-spreadsheet-1.4466388) which i still haven't read

An embarrassing moment I had recently was when I was sharing some of my old youtube playlists with my new girlfriend on her android tablet while cuddling on the couch. We're both music heads, so I was dredging up some of the playlists that I had created over time. I was sifting through videos, and if I thought she might like it then I would play it full screen if necessary. At some point I ran out of playlists and had moved onto my 'liked' videos enjoying the attention. On down i scrolled and played further into my past. One of the shorter videos i played full screen ended and it without pause continued into the next video that I had 'liked' years ago, which showed a woman in a bikini walking up to start music on her computer. It was a booty-shaking video some young woman had posted. Now, on my behalf I'm sure the woman was very talented (probably professional even) and I must have been impressed at some time in the past, but this wasn't something I wanted to reminisce over or show off to my new girl (especially at such an impressionable phase in our relationship). So there i am holding the screen away from her, and she's like, "oh, what's that?" Of course the tablet had slid down in the leather jacket so that I couldn't reach the little icon in the corner in order to get out of full screen and back to other options..any other options. It was a horribly long dozen seconds of me holding the screen out of her sight as booty shakin' music played under my 'No!.. Ahhh. Errr. Ummm'. In my head at any moment, she's going to try to wrestle the tablet away from me just to watch me turn further shades of red as she grills me on what exactly compelled me to 'like' this or that in the video. Anyways, my girl either didn't see anything to be offended by or she mercifully dropped it... Oops. Gotta laugh about it. :)20180103_144458.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Cheers

Hello and welcome to steemit.

Welcome to Steemit! Nice intro, seems like you got some interesting hobbies/interests. Look forward to hearing more. Followed! What's your first language!?

Like I said the jury is out on my first language. I've just recently gotten back into stringed instruments. Harmonics, Chords,.. The emphasis is on feelings (vibrations) more than relaying actual information. Feels closer to home.

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy your stay here.
See you around =)

Pressure cookers for the win!

Welcome to steemit I follow you dear hope you also do same for me thanks

Congratulations @amalgam, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @amalgam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are welcome ! I liked your presentation I wish you much success, from my part you have a vote. I leave the link of my presentation so you can also support me https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@noteswill/who-i-am-my-english-presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60132.86
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51