A Letter From A Girl You Do Not Even Know

Dear Friend,

I've never written about introducing myself in my 20 years of life experience. I am actually finding that introducing yourself on a social media platform is kind of hard - introducing yourself to strangers. What should I share to you? What do you want to know about me? Maybe not much.

But here's something about me...

Born in the Philippines, I was christened with the name Allyssa Cuevas. I like to think that my name is kind of unique because of the double letters in it though it is a pretty common name. Much of the 20 years I've already lived was spent going to school, now I am in my supposedly "last year" in college taking up Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, but due to certain circumstances such as failing subjects, I need to stay for two more years.

I think that I could write my full autobiography here but I think that it would be too long, thus, I would just share something about me.

1. I AM AN ENGINEERING STUDENT

I did not realize that I actually want to be a teacher - not until I reached the second semester of my second year in engineering. It's kind of sad that I did not have the courage to shift to another course because I lacked the courage back then when I realized that I do not want to become an engineer. I also thought about my parents who have already sacrificed much for their daughter whom they thought was smart enough to finish engineering. One thing about me is that I do not want to disappoint my parents. It's not like I am forced to continue studying engineering but I am choosing to stay and finish this for them. Lots of luck for me.

2. I WANT TO LEARN A LOT OF THINGS

From drawing and painting, to dancing and playing musical instruments, to photography, to writing stories and poems, to learning another language, I've spent time trying to learn these things but unfortunately failed in focusing on anything. I sometimes spend time drawing but I still have a long way to go. Dancing was never friendly with me while the guitar and piano are my snobbish acquaintances. Grab a phone with camera and there you are! A frustrated photographer! If given the chance I'd really love to be a professional photographer. There's just too much beauty in still things caught inside a picture. The subjects I really like are artificial lights, city lights, or natural lights.

Also, I should probably mention that I am very much interested in arts depicting nudity of a woman. A woman's body is truly a gem and I got fascinated with it when my friends kept on saying "Send nudes". Of course they are just kidding but I sent them pictures of nude arts I stumbled upon on the internet. Since then, I've searched for nudes, but not for perversion; I was mesmerized by its beauty that I think it is a great subject of art and photography.

These are just some of the things i want to learn. I still haven't talked about different professions or jobs I wanted to take such as being a writer, an interior designer, an astronaut, a doctor, an actress and many more. But it would be too long of a story.

3. I AM A CHRISTIAN

If there is one thing that I would want people to know about me is that I am a follower of Jesus Christ. I am not your religious, devoted type of Roman Catholic but I serve in our local church as a lector - someone who reads the Scriptures during the Holy Mass. I do not want people to know that I am a Christian because I said so, but because of my lifestyle. It was in my early years in college that I came to seriously accept and acknowledge that Jesus is my personal Savior, but I was a Catholic already back then. I am a sinner yet Christ has never failed to forgive me. I do not force my beliefs on other people but I would just probably just pray for them. I feel like a hypocrite talking about Christ here while being a sinner but by the grace of God, He called me to be near to Him no matter how much of a disobedient child I am and allowed me to share Him to you. Hoping to gain Christian friends here as well.

Why I am here?

So, I am not a blogger but I came here because of @christianyocte who encouraged me to write here since according to him, Steemians are friendly people. Now I am hoping that I would make friends here - I really love making friends with strangers and I hope we become friends too. I also came because of the pay. But on my first day here, I thought about the tag line of Steemit that says Come for the rewards, stay for the community (I am not sure if "tag line" is the correct term for it though). And after reading a few articles here, I think that it is great that your motivation for staying at Steemit is not only because of the rewards but because of the people actually involved here who support each other. I want to support people as well.

So, as an ending, I'd just share my favorite Latin quote:

Ex Nihilo, Nihil Fit

which translates to Out of nothing, nothing comes.

Persevere until something good comes out of it.
Never give up and never lose hope.

Hoping to contribute something here and make a difference.

Be kind,
Allyssa CC

27498099_1633942936698242_1907422577_n.jpg

Sort:  

반가와요.
좋은 활동 기대할게요.

안녕하세요. I can read Hangeul but I cannot understand it. Thanks for dropping by, anyway.

Hi, thanks for the introduction. It was pure and honest and you did really great, especially seeing its your first introduction! :)

A quick tip: Maybe add more tags than the #introduceyourself. It will expose your blog under other Tags as well.

Welcome to Steemit! I like writing as well :0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38