I was going to be Wonderwoman, but apparently you have to be yourself...

So I'm brand new to steemit! I've been writing and blogging a bit for a while and my friend suggested I try Steemit, so I am... cautiously.

I searched through and discovered no one here has actually claimed to be Wonderwoman yet; so I thought I'd take that title. From what I read, though, it's not cool to pretend to be someone you're not.... and I'm not actually Wonderwoman - even though sometimes I think I am. I'm also not cool.

IMG_4794.JPG

My name is Alissa and I run art classes for kids through my studio on the Gold Coast. I have some truly special mini-artists in my studio and will likely use Steemit as a place to share some of my lessons, but also brag about how amazing some of my students are!

IMG_6590.JPG
^This is what happens to art teachers when you lose a bet with your students!

I've been reading a few posts on what not to do in the Steemworld, and I'm hearing you all. Here's my question though... as a newby...

What's you're best piece of Steem-advice?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit !

Be what you want to be...Steemit Wonderwoman good luck !

Welcome to Steem @alissacrafter I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello Alissa! Welcome to Steemit!

My name is Lizelle and I blog about gardening, my cats and The Modern Dragon which my husband and I run.

The best advice I've heard is to create original content. Just be you. There are already lots of people reposting 9gag images which is just filling the space and letting good posts fall in between the cracks.
Steemit is like when you first opened your FB account. You need to make friends. Don't follow for the sake of following because your home page will be full of things you don't enjoy. You can go through and mute someone if you're following them but don't want to see their content.

Comments are worth as much as an original post and people can upvote comments, so make it a good one. Also if someone is asking for help you can boost their return by upvoting comments.

Upvotes are not the same as likes on any other social media. It is you saying " I believe in this post enough to back it financially. "
Your voting power diminishes every time you vote and takes quite long to reload, so make it count.

If you like a post and want to easily find it again you can resteem it. That's the equivalent of sharing a post. No one can see if you have upvoted a post aside from going through a plugin/ app/ site. I resteemed an article about that on my page.

Also- everything you post will be on the blockchain forever. You can't delete posts (eek!) but you can edit them.

If you spot an offensive or just plain bad post you can flag it which pushes down the creator's reputation.

I have shared articles on my page that help with the basics. Head on over and have a look as I'm not sure which ones you would have seen already.

I'm looking forward to seeing your journey as an art teacher :)
Following you
Lizelle @moderndragon

Wowzers. That turned into a newspaper LOL :D

Thankyou! I really appreciate your advice! I'll take it on board :)

Congratulations @alissacrafter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

G'day @alissacrafter! Welcome to the platform :]

hello!!! Thankyou!

Welcome to steemit Community @alissacrafter, i'm looking forward for your post in the future, Enjoy and keep steeming!

Best regards

Welcome Alissacrafter !! Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Thankyou mekong!

My biggest advice would be interact with and follow people that have interesting content, don't worry to much about all the noise about voting and curating and whatnot, just enjoy it vote for thing if you want (as a rule of thumb don't vote more than 10-11 a day and you won't lose to much power) and most of all have fun.

Thankyou... I appreciate you taking the time to give me some advice!

Welcome. Followed and resteemed. There seems to be an interest in art at all stages of production on this platform, so I am sure you'll find a home here soon.

Thankyou! This certainly seems to be the place that the creatives hangout!

Welcome to this platform. We wish a lot of things that you want here. I am Reza from Aceh, Sumatra wants to meet you. Please follow me on @elhakimi and I will give the vote to you. Thank you..

Thankyou - checking out your blogs now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56