Here I am: When the Universe Conspires in Helping Me to Achieve My Dreams

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7148.JPG

Visited and participated in The UNU-EHS Intensive Summer Course on DRR and CCA for a Sustainable World 2017, The United Nations University of Bonn, Germany

Hi, I am Alfi Rahman,

I love traveling, reading, writing, and dreaming. I believe that times and distances are the elements that must be passed to achieve goals.

Banda Aceh, Indonesia, and Sendai, Tohoku, Japan, are my most important cities. The tsunami damaged both regions (Banda Aceh in 2004 and the Tohoku area in 2011) and learned how the cities recovered and rebuilt after a disaster.

I earned my doctoral's degree from Tohoku University, Japan, in Human Security, Society, and Disaster. Since studying in Japan, I've been highly interested in community resilience. So, I wanted to learn more and share my experiences and knowledge on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR), Climate Change Adaptation (CCA), Community Based Disaster Risk Management (CBDRM), Knowledge Management for DRR, and Indigenous Knowledge for DRR.

I would like to thank my wife @cutjanuarita. Without her, I wouldn't have gotten as much as I did so far.

I love a powerful quotation written by Paulo Coelho the Alchemist: "When I want something, the universe conspires in helping me to achieve it." I translated it as a message: never stop dreaming, never stop believing and never give up

I'm very grateful for having the opportunity to be here :)

Best,

Alfi


Saleum,

Saya Alfi Rahman.

Menjelajah tempat-tempat baru, membaca, menulis dan bermimpi adalah beberapa hal yang sangat saya sukai. Karena waktu dan jarak adalah elemen terpenting untuk mencapai berbagai mimpi tersebut.

Banda Aceh, Indonesia dan Sendai di Tohoku, Jepang adalah dua kota penting bagi saya. Kedua kota ini luluh lantak diamuk oleh tsunami (Banda Aceh pada tahun 2004 dan Tohoku tahun 2011). Saya banyak belajar dari proses pulih dan bangkitnya kedua kota ini. Saya telah melihat dan membandingkan keduanya dari berbagai sudut pandang.

Saya mendapatkan gelar Ph.D., di bidang Human Security, Society dan Disaster dari Tohoku University, Jepang. Sejak belajar di Jepang, ketertarikan saya bermuara pula pada konsep ketangguhan masyarakat (Community Resilence). Jadi, saya ingin terus belajar sekaligus berbagai pengalaman dan pengetahuan untuk isu-isu Pengurangan Risiko Bencana (PRB), Adaptasi Perubahan Iklim (CCA), Manajemen Risiko Berbasis Masyarakat (CBDRM), Manajemen Pengetahuan untuk PRB serta Pengetahuan Lokal untuk upaya PRB.

Secara khusus saya ingin mengucapkan terima kasih yang mendalam pada istri saya @cutjanuarita, tanpa beliau saya tidak mungkin sampai pada capaian sejauh ini.

Sebuah penggalan kalimat yang memiliki kekuatan sekaligus saya sukai adalah dinukilkan oleh penulis favorit saya Paulo Coelho the Alchemist : When I want something, the universe conspires in helping me to achieve it.

Pesan ini seperti menyampaikan bahwa jangan pernah berhenti bermimpi, jangan pernah behenti memercayai dan jangan pernah menyerah

Saya sangat senang bisa menjadi bagian dari semangat steemians

Saleum,

Alfi

Sort:  

hello and welcome, I have a hard time with steemit, I hope you succeed better and I press my thumbs for you!

thumbs-up-dick.jpg

Hi @alfirahman ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Welcome to the community. Creativity is contagious... pass it along. - Albert Einstein

My experience has been great so far. Hope you enjoy being here.

keren bang, kapan balik ke banda aceh?

Awal April sudah di Banda Aceh Insya Allah. Semoga bisa bersua dan ngopi lagi kita :)

Hi Alfi, thank you for sharing! I find all the subjects you chose to learn fascinating and will follow to learn more. Blessings, Shemesh ❤

finally pak doto..
saya kebetulan baru buka dan terbaca lah ini
welcome to the community

Terima kasih telah meninggalkan pesan. Semoga bermanfaat adanya dan jalinan silaturahmi senantiasa berkekalan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58