Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

BitcoinVeteran.jpg

Hello Community,

I am excited to be in this here. I have been following the crypto space since end of 2012 just before the first big Bitcoin Boom. I was there for Mt. Gox, I was there for Cryptsy, and now here we are. I remember buying BTC using Western Union and Zip Pay. I remember when all of my friends at that time told me this was gonna get shut down by government.

I remember buying GPU's to mine bitcoins only to realize it was too late, time to mine altcoins. I remember ASICs getting created and talking to the founders of ButterFly Labs trying to order them. HEHE...

Now only 5 years later (3 decades in blockchain years), the community is getting stronger, the market cap is growing, and the technology is significantly improving. Let's continue to weather the storm associated with the advancement of this technology and flourish into a new Renaissance for social interactivity!

Alex

Sort:  

I was there for coinex.pw exit scam!

I met Josh Garza at a Las Vegas event just before he launch PayCoin. Yikes!!!

Welcome to Steemit @alexmerricks!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steem @alexmerricks I have sent you a tip

Thank you for the tip.

Hey welcome dear. Looking forward to see super awesome posts from you... Steemit first supercars blogger said hello

Hello there... I look forward to a mobile app for Steemit. So I can do it at work.

Congratulations @alexmerricks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome, Alex. I remember using Western Union as well. I actually used false names and addresses on the forms so my bitcoin would be truly anonymous. LOL

Yeah that's right. Anonymous transactions. LOL Remember when bitcoin represented that principle.

Hello and welcome to Steemit)

Thank you!

Hey @alexmerricks, and welcome to Steemit! Your introduction post is already a great start of your adventure on this platform. Post quality content, interact and connect with other people and I am sure you will see terrific growth.

You are always welcome to reach out to me should you have any questions. I have just posted a lottery as well which is free to participate and could earn you good start-up money. See you around! Cheers, @Finance2Nomad

Thanks finance2nomad... I'll check it out.

Welcome aboard, Alex! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Welcome to this wonderful community ! I hope you enjoy being here as much as I do. Stay active, post quality content and you will succeed.
@trendo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99