Redefining the Scope of Readiness to include Not-Readiness or Learn by doing. See what happens. (my intro post)

Hi, my name is Alex, and I have been wanting to do this for a while, but talking about myself makes me nervous --well, no, actually, what it is is that I get bored (so. bored), and lose track of what I was saying. That’s what makes me nervous. That feeling of being inside out as I literally go around gathering my thoughts. off the floor of my mind. now a big dark empty space. The same color as all of my thoughts.

Ready or not, here goes-

I learned about Steemit from Michael and Kirk of @sndbox, at two of their Creative Blockchain NYC meetups. I also attended two meetups that @andrarchy held in Washington Square Park.

I like that it people say that Steemit feels like a small town. I’ve never lived in a small town, just suburbia (no town) and cities (little to no small). I’m curious about it.

I’m a photographer, an aspiring stoic, recent runner (hey -is anyone else using Vi from Lifebeam as their AI trainer?), and an operations geek, currently (happily) heading up ops at REX, where we're building a global, decentralized real estate data escrow commons and marketplace on the Ethereum blockchain. It’s a portal for both commercial and residential real estate, where anyone can search for free and gets rewarded for listing and also for flagging spam or stale data. Listors continue to own their data, and will be able to monetize data in new ways. We’re looking to get our alpha on mainnet by March. (wooooosh!)

Democratizing data (though I wasn’t actually calling it that until I discovered blockchain earlier this year) -and incentivizing quality- is something I’ve been interested in for a long while. When it comes to business operations: People. Process. Apps. Data. Metrics. Data is pretty much everywhere throughout the ecosystem, or -and sadly, often- it’s practically nowhere (inaccessible, siloed, badly categorized/unsortable -i.e. not very useful) depending on the design.

Making data easily available to the most users, and most kinds of users, possible -whether it’s public data, like a real estate listing, or private data (to execute sale of a property for example), shared between only the appropriate invited parties- making data easily available is completely interesting to me.

I know it’s weird.
I just like things to work well. Helping to make that happen is what I do.

In a couple of weeks, I’m giving a talk about Service Design. So, that’s more not-readiness doing for me. Standing up in front of a group is also well-outside of my comfort zone. So, I signed up. It’s a theme this year. Redefining the scope of readiness to include not-readiness. The talk should work out to be interesting even if I botch it -because the subject matter totally is interesting (and can totally withstand a clumsy delivery). If you’ve heard of service design, leave me a comment please. I’m curious about your connection to it, and how you’d define it.

Preparing for the talk, organizing my ideas and interests (and freaking out about it, and how much procrastination it took just to write the outline) --these are probably the first bunch of posts that I’ll write.

I wonder how that will go. Feedback would be awesome!

Thanks for reading. I’m looking forward to getting to know the town :)
Alex Jacoby

#notready
#doitanyway
#operationsgeek
#democratizingdata


SOURCES AND CREDITS
intentionally left blank this time


RECOMMENDATIONS
I like to listen to podcasts when I run.
Really enjoyed this one: Warren Berger on the Knowledge Project podcast: Improve Your Life by Improving Your Questions.


late day view from the 7 train
A late day view from the 7 train.


Sort:  

Congratulations @alexjacoby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexjacoby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61