Being A Single Mother: The Never Ending Chase

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

13529214_10208277596128943_4774490822471361262_n.jpg

Being a mother is one of the most challenging things a woman will ever take on. No matter how prepared you think you are, no matter how much you think you know what it’s going to be like, you can never be fully aware of just how much everything (yes: everything) in your life is going to change. Your body, your social life, your career, your perspective… none of it will ever be quite the same.

Being a single mother is next level. There is no built-in support: not emotional, not financial. Partnered parents can count on someone to tag in when you just can’t anymore and need to take a break. They can count on an occasional night out that doesn’t cost anything because their partner can stay at home. They have someone who shares the weight of household responsibilities, child rearing and disciplining, potty training, and bill-paying pressures. It isn’t ALL on either parent, they shoulder it together… and even still they feel exhausted.

Now, my entire life is a great chase that never ends:

I chase my daughter all over the place. She’s going to be 5 in September, and it gets harder and harder to keep up with her. I want to be on top of praising her when she achieves something and teaching her if she fails at something. I struggle with saying “fuck it” when she talks back or tests me because sometimes I just don’t have the energy to discipline her: but it must be done, or she won’t learn what she needs to learn to become the best person she can be in this life. That is my responsibility.

I chase the traffic to get her to school each day: so I can chase my dreams by chasing my career. I chase my deadlines for work. I don’t want to just make it every month, I want to make something of myself. Speaking of which, I chase the expenses: school tuition and countless school related events, parties, and extras involved in her class, babysitters (which seem to charge way more than I remember getting paid when I was a kid), forever growing out of clothes and shoes, advancing to the next car seat, toys and books that educate and stimulate her for each new developmental phase, my rent and bills, my insurance, my car, my savings, my own activities, clothes, and personal maintenance…

I chase the dog. He doesn’t get as much attention as he used to and he’s getting older (he’s 12 now)… I’m always a little too late bringing him to the groomer. I chase the housework, which has doubled since becoming a mother. As soon as I get one room clean, one load washed, one meal prepared, one project checked off my list: I look up and realize: my daughter drew on the Eames rocker, my dog missed the puppy pad, the sink is full again, I never got to hang my clothes up, the load that’s sitting in the washer now smells musty, there’s a trip to the post office I haven’t made, 4 phone calls I missed, and now it seems we’re out of milk and food.

I chase the babysitters around so I can chase my friends around and go out: ever. I hardly get to attend networking events anymore because I have to weigh out the expense of a sitter, and the expense of time… Every social event must be maximized with an equation weighing out how many friends will be there so I can get the most bang for my buck against how long I’ll be out for. There needs to be a justifiable ROI to warrant a positive RSVP.

I chase the clock. There is never enough time. Time to bond with her as much as I’d like, time to take the dog to the park, time to pull myself together in the morning, time to get to the gym, the post office, to return stuff to Target, to catch up with my friends who live out of town, to Facetime with family, to write more, to get alone time… And I still end up asking myself why I haven’t done all the things I said I’d do LAST week. Month. Year.

Ultimately, I chase my tail. It’s no wonder I can sometimes be so high strung… It all feels insurmountable at times. I hold myself to such high standards, I put such incredible pressure on myself. I want to achieve the immaculate house, my ideal body, be a perfect mother with a polite, well-mannered child who eats nothing but nutritious, home cooked meals and is forever a few steps ahead of her peers. I want to continue to be a leader in my industry, do incredible work for my clients. I often feel I am trying to make everything work like a well-oiled machine, and end up feeling I’ve made a huge mess instead. I shoot for the moon, land among the stars… and feel I’ve somehow fallen short or forgot something important along the way.

So then I do my best to chase away feelings of guilt, inadequacy, failure… due to all of the above. Am I a bad mother? Am I a slob? Am I letting myself go? Am I advancing as fast as my peers? Is my career taking a hit? Am I lazy? Am I crazy? How do these other women do it? Where am I not doing enough? How could I do more? Keeping a positive, optimistic outlook and not beating myself up for where I drop the ball is a massive task sometimes that I have to be incredibly intentional about. But it works: I feel good about myself through all of this chaos. I’m in awe of what I do manage and try not to compare myself to others. Comparison is, after all, the thief of joy.

The greatest gift that anyone could offer any single mother: is empathy and understanding. Maybe even, a night out. Please don’t judge me if my hair isn’t done sometimes or my house isn’t perfect or I can’t say yes as much as I used to, because I’m doing so much more than my best. Maybe I’m even trying to do too much… It’s just that I refuse to accept that I must sacrifice certain things in order to be a parent on my own. So I choose instead to say, hey: there are piles of clothes on the floor, but at least they’re clean! I choose to say, you know what? Tonight I’m not doing ANYTHING after I put my daughter to bed because I need to relax or I will break. This kind of leniency with myself keeps me from falling apart. These aren’t excuses. I can’t be all the things to all the people all the time. All I can be is my very best self. And I’m honestly doing the best I can. Forgive me if I forget to call you back, if I don’t reach out enough, if I can’t say yes to your invitations. Don’t stop inviting me… don’t stop counting on me. Just understand that you can never really understand what things are like… and love me all the same. Eventually, it will ease up. As my daughter gets older, as my routine solidifies, as my expenses slow down, etc.

But today… Well. What day is it again?

Sort:  

Hello there, welcome to steemit, i am sure you will find alot of users and friends here who could let you express and try to give you one advice or two whenever you need help. It is definitely not easy to be a single mum and i wish you all the best. You are doing a great job thus far!

Thank you, I appreciate that!

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much!

Mom raised me by herself practically. Dad was always working overtime so I barely saw him most weeks. I'll tell you this. You and your daughter will be very very close when she grows up.

I do appreciate that she will see a strong, driven woman as her role model and hopefully she will pick that up herself as she grows up. Thank you for this!

That's how I saw my mom. She went back for her degree when she had me and my sister.

It's always good to hear positive stories when it seems people tend to attribute negative ideas to single parents. For every bad example, there are thousands of good ones. Good for your mom!!

I am actually picking her up a mcflurry for her now.

Hahaha, good daughter! I can't wait until mine is old enough to bring me ice cream!

My mother raised me by herself.
All I can say is, your hard work will never be unappreciated.

It takes a lot of strength for someone to raise a child on their own.
I was far from a good child growing up, but my Mom managed to turn me into a decent person, and I owe it all to her. I'll never forget all the sacrifices she made for me; every success, I owe to her. She is the single most important person in my life.

One day your daughter will be old enough to realize just how much you sacrificed for her, and I'm sure she will feel the same as I do. There's something surreal knowing that ONE person cared enough about you to raise you all by themselves. It takes a very special kind of person to be strong enough to do so.

I wish you and your daughter the best!
YOU ROCK!

Thank you so much for this comment, this is very meaningful to me. Thank you!

No problem!
Gonna try and see if we can get this post more exposure :)

Aww, thank you!! 😍

This was beautiful and eloquent. Parenting is hard under all circumstances, but doing it solo is a whole other level!

Remember before you had your daughter, when you thought you were so busy? :-)

Hey,
It's been a while since you posted this but I had to stop and say: wow. I'm a father raising two children with the help of my wife and it gets overwhelming. I honestly can't imagine doing it alone some days. You paint it in an incredibly honest light and one thing shines through blindingly, you're an amazing mom! Great post and seriously awesome job being a #steemmom!

I appreciate this so very much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alanajoy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am a single dad, the challenge is hard, but the reward is Great!!!
Blessings to you!!

Indeed it is. 🙏🏼 I wish you all the best!

LEL That you are able to recognize you are trying to do too much is good. That you are trying to do too much is even better. I promise you will never regret doing something for you daughter.

My exes parental rights were terminated in 1993, when my eldest was two. As a single father working construction, I failed serially, but still raised great kids. I homeschooled, and taught my sons math by paying them $10/hr to pull tape on sheetrock jobs, carry soil when repairing foundations, and whatever it took to keep them at my side, where I could do my duty to them to teach them.

It paid off in a lot of ways, but I never will shake the certainty I failed them in even more. One thing I realized is that good kids aren't going to be stopped from being good adults by any impediments that arise during their childhood, and I should have relaxed a bit.

TBQH, the only regrets I have are of those moments when I didn't put my kids first. Due to the incredible love we feel for them, these regrets are like acid on our soul. I recommend avoiding those particular regrets, at any cost.

Mostly, I recommend you enjoy every smile on her face. It just doesn't get better than that.

Thank you so much for sharing your story along with mine. It can be challenging finding that balance between taking care of them and taking care of ourselves. But I think we must care for ourselves in order to give them our best. So it's an ever evolving balancing act. Kudos to you for doing what any parent should do, so many fathers do not. I'm sure your kids don't think you failed them when you did everything for them. Thank you again for sharing!

Amazing that you were able to homeschool and work, as a single parent!

Love & INNERstanding from a single father ✌🏻

Indeed! However, isn't it unfortunate in general that that is surprising?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28