Hi, Akado from BitSharestalk here. Got a couple of questions.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi,

I'm Akado from BitSharestalk, long time member of the BitShares community. Been around since the AGS donation period. I've decided to finally create my account, not with the objective of making money but to support the technology and the community, which btw, seems to be growing.

I like the fact how Steemit has lowered the entry barrier and made it easy for anyone to signup and start participating. That's one big achievement imo. I feel the crypto geek technical stuff like mining is completely separated from the "normal" users, who don't have to worry about that stuff and can just use it like any other forum.

My question is:
Can this be implemented on other forums and communities? I mean, that would be way way easier than trying to make everyone migrate here. Features like getting paid and upvoting only, the core stuff that stimulates content creation and good behaviour.

Imagine http://www.deviantart.com/ integrating these features. They have a huge user base, completely dedicated to content creation, they have contests, all kinds of stuff. Is this the plan for the future or can it be done? Is it feasible? I don't see deviantart community migrating here, but if these core features would be implemented there, it would be cool.

Other example are Roleplaying anime forums, where people are very detailed on what they do during roleplaying. This could also increase the quality of content there for example.

Thanks.

Sort:  

Welcome akado!

They wouldn't have to use steemit.com but they could certainly use the Steem blockchain. Any blog, news sight, forum, etc could add their own interface to the Steem network and do whatever they wanted with the data for presentation etc.

Obviously if they wanted to change how it works underneath they'd have to start their own chain.

Thank you xeldal :)

I see. It would be nice to have some kind of support for that, a tutorial of sorts or something. We should assume that if any service wants to use this technology, that it doesn't know how to work with blockchains. Like I said, imagine deviantart or similar sites using this technology. It will only take one well known forum or community to use it and there are thousands of them!

Hi Xeldal..

I can see this happen to smaller sites. The big boys however, will try to emulate and improve on the concept and start their own so that they could earn more rather than sharing it with Steemit or the likes in future. I think... :-)

I think @pharesim is doing something like that for scientific publications. You may check with him how far he has done in this area.

Welcome! =)

Hi Akado..

I agree totally on the simplicity of Steemit. Non crypto geek like me finds it very amusing in fact. The thought of sharing profits with a "company" by just participating in its content creation/curation is just so...interesting.

I believe Steemit will do well and evolve into something larger than facebook if it keeps on being simple, easy and user friendly. Add in a well designed marketplace platform, Steemit might even be bigger than Alibaba and facebook combined.

I wonder what will happened if entity the likes of deviant art merge with or being taken over by Steemit.

Delighted to have you!

Thank you! Btw I got some permalink error while trying to submit this, due to size? I forgot to copy the error. Had to refresh and do it again. @devs

wang is a bot. No use asking it anything.

Late welcome here. The size should not be a problem. What's the original title and post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54