I seem to be an average crypto investor.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

There's a saying that says:
"There are three types of people in the world:

  1. Those who make things happen.
  2. Those who watch things happen.
  3. Those who say "what the F**k just happened" "

It was just over 6 months ago that I got into the crypto world.
Eth was knocking around the 200 euro mark and things were good. I knew very little about the crypto space but id soon learn.
After a days work I would come home and do some research on crypto, funds were fairly limited but I figured at the time it was worth a shot.
Making money on crypto seemed easier more fun than working.
After following the route everyone at the start seems to take (coinbase), I gave no though to their high fees and was fairly happy with my investment.
I had spit around 700 euro between bitcoin and eth and was watching them every second I could while I was in the office at work.
After the first week Id made about 15% profit and was feeling fairly happy with the result.
More I was getting confident and did a little more digging. Hitting on ripple around 17c turned out to be my primary money maker of my whole crypto endeavour, scooping up about 2000xrp I felt it was one to hold onto.

Time passed and passed, and from all the info that i was reading it seemed like day trading was the thing to get into.....it wasn't.
Taking funds in and out, looking at prices, swapping crypto around. It got messy. The funds dropped a bit naturally as
I had no idea what I was doing, even after hours and hours of research.
It seems like holding was the more appropriate thing to do, even though I didn't really want to. I had enjoyed the feeling trying to
make money on the spot.

What came next was the big crypto boom, everything skyrocketed. Ripple was on the way to 1 dollar. that was my point to sell 1/2 my ripple hold.
and I did. instant reget and I watched ripple sore for 3 dollars. I took the remainder of ripple out just to be safe as she peaked at 3 dollars.
id made some money. My bitcoin and eth had done well but the hits I took from trying to day trade took their toll.
I would have made about twice as much money if I touch it from day 1.
But that's how it always is, you always would have made more, you always could have done this could have done that.
There's loads of people I know who say "yea they were looking at getting into bitcoin when it was like 100 dollars".
But did they.......no. There's alway the possibility to do better, to do something different.
The people who actually bought bitcoin at 100 dollars more than likely sold it may at 500...1000 or maybe 2000?
And if they did sell and bitcoin then crashed, they would be patting themselves on the back saying they did the right thing.
But How many are kicking themselves that they sold at 500....1000 or 2000? a good few id say.

It always seems that I either take my money out either too soon or too late. where as in reality there is a tiny window to get it perfect,
and very few do. What I've learned from the crypto game is that:

  1. you have to do your homework.
  2. you have to have a game plan.
  3. you have to be willing to stick to your game plan and be happy with the result because you will never get it 100% right.

Unknown.jpeg

Sort:  

I totally agree with everything that you say, I'm the type of a person that makes things happen. =)
Welcome to steemit and see you around. =)

Welcome to the community. Creativity is contagious... pass it along. - Albert Einstein

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.DQmVXYtUJyo3GKDkuo5WFzMosJ6xFKCwqTucVLDCYtQkP4q.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60478.98
ETH 2653.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45