Hello Steemit From Lucy Fulele - This is My Short Story - Life in a Squatter Camp

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit

My name is Lucy Fulele I am 43 years old and I live in a squatter camp in South Africa, I am a single mom and I have 3 children, bellow you can see a photo of my home .

I do not have running water in my home only a shared community faucet that supports around 100 residents also I do not have electrical power, I cook on a small gas stove and I use candles at night, I work as a maid and get a salary of R1000 per month which is about $70 a month.

I am proud of my home which I built myself, Its made from scrap roofing panels on the sides and my roof is made with plastic sheeting which leaks when it rains except for one corner of my home that is dry where I can huddle with my kids.

I love my kids dearly, they are everything to me and I love God who has given them to me and is always with me, I hope you enjoyed my short story, Afristeem has asked me to write them a few stories about my life which I will do.

God Bless
Lucy

Please note this story is written on behalf of Lucy, all funds received from upvotes or donations will be donated to Lucy directly and will be featured in future posts.

Afristeem is attempting to improve the lives of the under privelaged in Africa

Follow Us @afristeem

Sort:  

I really hope you have great success on Steemit and eventually buy something a bit more comfortable, but keep your head up and God Bless.

thank you @dmacshady if we can help her with a new roof and some food I think it will already make a positive impact on her life, God bless

Yes for sure bro and I believe that a roof over your head, clothes on the back of her and her children, and plenty of food in the kitchen. :)

How often do you listen to the radio? What is your favorite radio station?

Ciao! Ciao!

She deserves to earn some money. Here in steemit by sharing her daily life I am sure it would be possible. Thank you for bringing her story before us. I really appreciate your efforts.

Thank you @asuran yes she does deserve it and we will do our best to help her, she is a lovely lady who many in her community look up to, we hope to have more stories from her life soon and photos.

Enjoy your stay!

Greetings!

Great for you to join us!

Wow I cannot imagine living like that, thank you @afristeem I will be following you and looking forward to more stories.

Interesting post. Well done :)

The firm, the enduring, the simple, and the modest are near to virtue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62