Introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
What's a Homesteader and Why Do I Care?
image
๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
Sometimes it's easier to answer the question of what something is NOT rather than my definition of what it is, although I'll give you my definition below. A homesteader isn't necessarily off-grid, rural, live totally off the land, militia-type agrarian... although they can be. They aren't necessarily owners of large plots of land and own tractors and "farm" although some do. They don't necessarily have huge back yard suburban gardens, replaced front lawns food plots, or city-chickens, though some of the coolest homesteaders I know do those things.

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
๏ฟผ

Grow Where You Are

My definition at my website (The Modern Homestead) is simply this... a homesteader should "Grow Where You Are". Few words for a great big philosophy. My take on homesteading (and please note, there are a lot of different views) is this: Life pulls us different places at different times. Sometimes our desire may be to live in the middle of nowhere, off-grid growing our own food, living sustainably, and yet, our callings, careers and current choices may place us in suburbia, perhaps on a small lot in an urban setting. Maybe kids schooling, not wanting to uproot them, your career, medical needs or any number of things keep you from being where you THINK you need to be to live more sustainable, to be a little less dependent, to grow in knowledge. But that's counterproductive. You can learn so much where you are by doing things that you want to do in the future. It may be a smaller scale or it may not be everything you want to do, but you can move in that direction.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

My Story

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
With that philosophy in mind, I'll share a little bit of my story so you know who I am. My name is Bob. I chose@homesteaderslife here because modernhomestead was ONE LETTER TOO LONG! :) I'm originally from Ohio. I now live in NW PA. I'm married for over 20 years and have 4 children... all teenagers with the oldest in her freshmen year in college. I've been in NW PA for 10 year๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Sort: ย 


Hello @adyyong!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 5 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChatโ€™s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming ๐Ÿš€

It's nice to meet you Bob. Welcome to Steemit! I can't wait to see more of your posts, jsut started following you, I would appreciate if you would follow me back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47