Hello Steemit. My name is Adnan and I'm... well, it's complicated

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Adnan Karsic photo on Steemit

Why so complicated?

My name is Adnan and I'm an IT student. I'm passionate about programming, graphic design, basketball, and something I recently discovered, blockchain.

It is very hard for me to focus on only one of these topics so you'll probably see blogs about everything I mentioned. However, I'll try to stick to programming and blockchain because that is where I think my life path will take me.

Let's start


  • Graphic Design

When I was 13 years old, I discovered Photoshop as a tool for graphic design. In school I was considered that kid that knows how to draw and I instantly fell in love with Photoshop and whole digital art thing.

Adnan Karsic face photoshopped in Godfather

I don't do design professionally, everything I've ever photoshopped was for fun and my satisfaction as you can see from this picture.


  • Programming

About at the same time I got into design, I was introduced to QBASIC in school. I wrote my first if-then-else statements in primary school. I was overwhelmed with GOTO and I believed programming is so hard and I'm too young for it. 5 years later, I wish I had more confidence. It wasn't until the end of a high school when I started to play with C++ and Java.

qbasic vs javascript Adnan Karsic

Now, I'm focused on Javascript and web development as I believe my design skills could boost me in this industry. (I know BASIC and Javascript are different purpose languages and here I just wanted to illustrate the syntax)


  • Basketball

At the age of 8 I started practicing basketball. Now I play for my university team. By the way, I'm 203 cm high (6' 8"). I play on power forward position. I appreciate great memories related to basketball, good friends and life lessons.
Adnan Karsic basketball


  • Blockchain

What is May 1st for you? If you live on Earth, it is International Workers' Day. For me this isn't the only special thing about that date. On May 1st 2017, after reading some news about Bitcoin, I started diving into Blockchain.

I was so amazed about the technology I haven't slept for 40 hours. I just couldn't stop reading documentations, whitepapers, documentaries and YouTube videos about it. When I understood the basic concepts, it blew my mind. All the possibilities for better society, new economy and many more with power of decentralizing value transfer.

I'm planning to learn more about developing on Ethereum. I try not to be a fanboy, so i keep an open mind and watch for similar purpose blockchains such as Stratis and EOS.io.

Blockchain photo

You can read my blog post about blockchain here where I share what I learned in first month of diving into this technology.

I hope you liked my introductory post. Feel free to comment or contact me to chat about stuff I wrote about

Sort:  

Ooh, you're in an exciting time. First learning about blockchain technology was an amazing experience for me as a software developer as well. It changed my life's trajectory; before blockchain, I had been setting myself up to go into cyber security. I knew immediately that blockchain would change the world of computing forever.

And here we are, some three or four years later, posting about it on a blockchain based on my some of my proudest work, Graphene. :-D

Did you pursue C++ at all, @adokce? Do you do any modern C++ programming?

Hey, thank you for your attention. So one year ago, I wanted to do everything: web, mobile, game development, design bla bla bla... and I started with C++.

I followed thenewboston's YouTube videos about it and gained some basic knowledge (from variables to structs and classes, pointers and vectors). Then I went to UnrealEngine and wanted to build a simple game. However, I tought about making 2D game first so I went to LibGDX Java framework for building 2D games in Android Studio. First I followed some Java courses and simple mobile applications with Java.. aand I changed my mind again.
Now I'm dedicated to learn Javascript as much as I can (and then it's frameworks and NodeJS) for web development (and maybe hybrid mobile apps).

However, I still have C++ classes in university but I'm not doing anything serious with C++.

But you're honest about it, and that's 2/3 of learning. :-)

If you love Javascript and web, then definitely go for that. But I recommend, if you can do it and don't hate it, learning modern C++ too, while you're still early in your career. Having both of those tools on your belt will make you a lot more capable, and thus valuable, especially in the blockchain world, where a lot of the most interesting projects are written in C++.

If you do work more with C++, seriously question whether your university is teaching you good, modern C++. C++ gives you plenty of room to make mistakes, and many teachers push outdated techniques that make it much, much harder to stay out of trouble with things like memory management.

Welcome to Steemit 😊 I hope you got a good start here and already could experience the greatness of this Community. I hope you'll enjoy to be a member of this project and stay with us for a long time 😉

Hello and Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy Steemit as much as I do. See you around! :-)
welcometo.gif Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES by @hien-tran
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit. "I was so amazed about the technology I haven't slept for 40 hours." You have blockchain fever. Don't worry. It's common, but sadly there is no cure.

Day 41
Still no sleep.

But really, in last three months so much stuff happened in cryptoworld it's insane. And it's still just a beginning.

have a nice long warm bath and a hot toddy tonight, and the cryptoverse will be waiting for you when you are rested and ready for another day of learning. Be kind to your body, it has to carry you through a- hopefully- very long journey.

I literally went through the same thing about 6 months ago. But you're right, the past three months have been very exciting.

Congratulations @adokce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steem @adokce sent you a tip. Nice blog btw.

Hey, thanks. I'll check you out too.

Welcome. I've done some programming too. Look forward to seeing some programming related posts.

Congratulations @adokce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! I'm sure you'll love it here and will learn a lot along the way. I've followed you :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54