A long overdue introduction!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

E15C0562-B4E7-464C-A2F5-2F25AC633476.jpeg
Ground control to Major Tom.

Hello Steemit! I just realised, I’ve been on this platform for months, but I haven’t formally introduced myself.

So I’m Adeva Jane Esparrago, I’m from Cagayan de Oro City- that’s in Mindanao, Philippines.

I come from a loving family of 5. My mom is a Physical Education teacher and my dad does whatever he wants! Haha. I have two younger sibs who open the door for me when I come home late.

My family means a lot to me. Everything I have, I owe to them. The work I do is all for them. My family has taught me what is important, what is essential in life- LOVE and HOPE.

04FC2443-7EE5-4CD4-8E11-4D885F049B7E.jpeg

I’m an English teacher at Xavier University Junior High School and I’m currently finishing my Masters Degree at Xavier University! I also had my undergrad, Bachelor of Science in Education Major in English, at the same institution.

Most of the best years of my life was spent in school. It is Xavier which has taught me to appreciate myself, to do things for the betterment of others. The school has taught me MAGIS- the Ignatian concept. MAGIS means MORE. Doing more than what is asked of us, than what is asked of me.

You might’ve figured it out by now- LOYALTY is one of my strongest suits. Haha.

89FEF5E7-4CE0-46B6-A32B-AB19D27FF21B.jpeg
Talk about school loyalty, eh?

But aside from school loyalty, my loyalty takes me to different (more... er... romantic?) heights.

Speaking of loyalty and romance, TA-DA!!!

98037D2C-CD16-4A9F-9602-DA8183A8D900.jpeg

Meet Dave, too. Since he is my (I would like to argue) better half, I feel like he deserves a spotlight in this post, too. We’ve been together for 10 years now and I am in a very much committed, happy relationship with the light and love of my life.

10 years with this wonderful person has taught me PATIENCE and UNDERSTANDING. I used to be spoiled and selfish. I have to admit, I still am at times. But years with this significant person has led me to reflect on what I value. I have learned to extend myself and give more patience and understanding. Things don’t always go your way, but if it’s for someone else’s benefit, it’s always worth it.

But more of that maybe in another post. :)

Going back to stuff about this weirdo. I might be a teacher by profession, but I have a wide variety of skills and interests.

I organise local social outreach programs. In 2011, with the help of volunteers, we founded Kuya Fish Campaign Incorporated (KFCI). KFCI initially was a response team for Typhoon Sendong, but it has then reached out to more and more communities over time.

Years with KFCI has taught me the values of CHARITY and KINDNESS. It’s not easy to be kind in this world filled with challenges. There will be times when you question what you do, if it’s still worth doing beyond the repercussions and the exhaustion. There is light after darkness. The world will be kinder if you are. Change begins with me. Change begins with you.

E6A092F7-D41B-4E88-B768-B5C1795871B2.jpeg
During an Outreach program last December.

I found other ways to contribute to the community. Thanks to the help of Nagkahiusang Magsusulat sa Cagayan de Oro (NAGMAC), I have finally found my voice. Fast forward several years later, I have published 2 chapbooks and continue to harness the transformative power of literature, especially through Spoken Word poetry.

Writing isn’t easy. You will be rejected and hurt. Being in this organisation, and writing for as long as I have, has taught me the value of PERSEVERANCE and RESILIENCE. You don’t always get what you want, you have to make the most of what you have. Get back on your feet once you have fallen and try again. There’s no limit to trying. Dreaming does not have a due date.

A8EDD11F-6604-4437-96DA-C55E8385FD50.jpeg
During one of our shows, CDO Poetry Night!

I’m also a lover of the arts. I’ve been painting for years now and I’ve put up several exhibits and shows. Art is what keeps me alive and kicking.

Art has also taught me values. The importance of CREATIVITY and HARD WORK. If you’re an artist, you’d know that you wouldn’t get anywhere if you won’t pick up your brush and work. Everyone and everything gets better with practice. We don’t get out of our mothers’ wombs masters of our crafts. Skills are honed by hard work.

We do what we do because creativity makes the world much more human. We are contributing so much more than our works and talents- we are contributing beauty, color and life. Without art, Earth is just ‘eh’.

76D1012E-AA72-4AE6-A3C4-67D57A9CC40E.jpeg
Working for my first self-published chapbook, Meraki.

6D4C54CF-577E-49A7-9CF8-D92C6C80B90C.jpeg
An exhibit in the Fr. Francisco Demetrio Gallery.

...and then there’s actual kicking.

E19ADC2D-103E-4F20-97BA-0D1366714807.jpeg
No one has been harmed in this photo.

I’m a Brown-belt Karateka from Japan Karate Association - Asia Pilipinas. I’ve been in Karate almost all of my life, given that my mom is a Karate instructor as well.

Years in Karate has taught me the values of DISCIPLINE and RESPECT. In Karate, you respect your body. You work with it, you take care of it. You respect others. They have just as much rights and privileges as us. For you to respect others, you have to discipline yourself. You have to know what to do, how to do it, and when to begin and stop. Self-knowledge is essential in living a fuller, happier life.

Oh and I also play the drums.

913092A9-E4DA-4237-9CD6-5DA1C710CD91.jpeg
Ba-dum-tssss!!

At times, I’d feel like I’m spreading myself too thin, but that where the value of CHOICE and TIME MANAGEMENT comes in. What are valuable to me? What will these things develop in me? What are the choices required of me? All of these questions help us know our strengths and our purpose. Once we serve our purpose, then our lives can be complete.

It may seem like a lot, and it actually is. But all of these things boil down to one thing- passion. Passion- the things you live for. The things that make your life worth living. I am a very passionate person. Everything I do, I do with love and I give everything that I am, and everything that I have.

I thank Steemit and you dear Steemians for letting me share my passions! Cheers to more years!

Sort:  

What can I say? I am so proud of you girl showing those talents and an amazing love life (wow).
Welcome to steemit I am positive that whatever you want to accomplish here will be accomplished especially with the skills that you possess. =)

That’s so sweet. :) thank you @purepinay!

Hello distant kamag-anak, given the surname I bet your clan or roots is from San Jacinto, Masbate. Anyways, what else you can't do? You have so many talents..keep it up and enjoy life..keep doing things that you love..indeed writing is not easy but if you love sharing your thoughts and views, why not. Galing!!!😊

Hello @greymonolith! I wouldn’t be surprised if we’re (somewhat) cousins! I will call you gaw! (Gaw is short for ig-agaw, which is cousin in bisaya!) hahaha. It’s so great to know more people related to us! My dad’s family hail from surigao, so prolly migration? Haha


Congratulations! You are one of our Weekly featured Authors.

Welcome to Steemit Philippines. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.


Great introduction. Welcome and glad you’re here! You appear to have many talents which will bring you a lot of followers. BTW I play the drums too! Also, I support your penguin plot of world domination 😂

Thanks @greenroom! Let’s dominate the world with penguin awesomeness!

I also believe passion is the key to happiness, good stuff!

Thanks @sentimental! :) passion is the key to happiness, so let’s keep chasing it!

very nice post dear friend @adevaesparrago
TextArt_180121075545.jpg

You are great.

Nice nice! Talentssssss!😊😊

I like your words, I hope you have a better day ahead for those days that will be your good luck

glad to see.. interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49