Hey everybody! introducing myself and steemit world

Hi all. My name is sarah, and I’m a former lawyer from Montreal. I have been eating my way around the world since 2012, when I quit after 5 years of practicing law in NYC. I share longform narrative on my site, Legal Nomads147.

I’ve been a digital nomad since 2012, though my initial plan was just to take a one year sabbatical from work. I started my site to keep my mum up to date about what I was up to, then it got more popular, and now it’s the primary platform for what I do. The site is ad-free, but I fund my mobile lifestyle via social media work/brand audits, public speaking, small group food walks in Saigon, and a book20 I wrote a few years ago. I also do a bit of freelance writing.

So much has been memorable but a few bigger items stand out. The fact that travel helps you keep life in perspective by constantly reminding you of your privilege, and of what you have yet to learn. For me, the connections I’ve forged through food and the lives of the people who cook and sell it, giving me a window into a place that is far more in-depth than I ever imagined. The friendships I’ve made that span continents, and that have doubled back on themselves over and over, making for meetups in far-flung places.

During years 1-2 of being a digital nomad, people would ask if I was “done yet.” Then, the question became “haven’t you gotten this out of your system” during years 3-4. Year 4 was “wow, I can’t believe you’ve built a life around what you love.” And now, well, we’ll see.

In terms of places, I started my travels in South America, and spent quite a bit of time in Siberia and Mongolia before hitting Asia via the trains, but once I made it to Thailand and Vietnam, I felt quite at home. Like many others, I chase summer, but I do so for the food more than anything else. I’ll often pick destinations because of want I want to write about next, and eat.

What I love about the DN community is the willingness to sit down and have interesting conversations that span business, politics, culture and more within minutes of meeting someone new in a totally different field of work.

Looking forward to meeting those of you I haven’t yet met, and seeing what everyone is up to as they work from anywhere.1743670_790959720952663_7177625683812526878_n.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted! very inspiring! all the best, will def keep an eye out for your posts.
Travelled for four years and blog about it now, back in Amsterdam now but thinking about what will be next for me.
love it for you that you can life like that, need to find a way to travel again
Welcome!!

Hello Sarah @abdullatif ! Nice to meet you ! You are an interesting girl , I wish you all the best ,success ! Stay tuned with my future posts ,take care and post quality articles !

Congratulations @abdullatif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to the Steemit community.
I hope to make it to South America as well this upcoming January or February.(Machu Picchu in Peru and also Argentina)

Cheers, @rebele93

welcome to steemit @abdullatif
following you now . :D
follow me back pls . :)

Im a bit confused.. afbullatif is a man's name.. there is no way it can be the name of a woman..and that too a white woman.

Hey ab,
You deserve an up-vote just for ditching the lawyer gig in my opinion.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

HI .... welcome to steemit platform ..I upvoted and commented on your post...I have created a fb page " steemit global community" join us...we will give you all the help needed.
Follow me on @abdullahkhattak...

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Nice introduction post! Hope you have a good time.

Welcome @abdullatif,

Enjoy your time here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74