Introduce Your Hometown: The Isle of Wight

Hi folks! Harriet here, and I'm about to tell you a bunch of interesting stuff about my hometown... The Isle of Wight!

image.jpeg

Here's a collage I did of the Isle of Wight to give to my partner when he was moving to London. I just love the shape of the island - it looks like a diamond!

image.jpeg

So, to get us started here are a few fun facts about the Isle of Wight that you might not know:

  • The Isle of Wight is nicknamed 'dinosaur island' because of how many dinosaur fossils have been discovered here: 25 different ones!
  • The Isle of Wight has lots of quirky little events, including 'The Garlic Festival'.
  • Bear Grylls was born here!

FESTIVALS

It's also known for its festivals, and it's easy to see why. The Isle of Wight Festival has a history of hosting Bob Dylan, Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie, The Rolling Stones and Paul McCartney. I've been going to this festival most years since I was a teenager, and some of my personal highlights include The Killers, The Kaiser Chiefs, and The Police. I also have loved performing there myself, both doing fire circus performing and gigs with my Ukulele Orchestera whilst in school.

image.jpeg

Last year I also went to the Isle of Wight's last ever Bestival, dressed up for the Space theme. My favourite part of this one was seeing The Cure.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

THINGS TO DO

But the island is probably known best for its plethora of beauty spots, but these vary massively. If you want to see Royal, fancy beauty then look no further than Osbourne House, the Royal home of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. The gardens there are perhaps the most beautiful of all.

image.jpeg

There are also smaller castles - this is one that I actually worked in! It was a little cafe and shop that sold coffee, cake, fossils and crystals. I loved it. We had all sorts of odd things like fossilised dinosaur poo! (The kids loved seeing that!)

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

There are lots of little quirky things to do, from painting pottery, to going for a ride in the swan boats on the local lake!

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

EXPLORING

Or if you're more into the rural way of life, there are plenty of forests and beaches, both public and hidden.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

It's always a good idea to explore - here is a photo of a beach that me and my friends got to by kayak.

image.jpeg

I think the most amazing thing about living on the Isle of Wight is how much you fall in love with it, and I really think this can be summed up by this quote from Jane Austen in Mansfield Park:

'She thinks of nothing but the Isle of Wight, and she calls it the Island, as if there were no other island in the world'.

If you're ever close by, give the island a visit.

Sort:  

It looks really nice, guess I will have to visit one day. One more place on my neverending list:D

Haha tell me about it! There are so many places I want to visit!

This looks like a very fun place to live.

It's been lovely. Definitely didn't like the place I went to uni as much so it's nice to come back for a bit now!

How long do you plan on staying in the ISLE?

Perhaps six more months, then I want to go travelling for a bit. And then I'm going to do my masters degree... But I don't know where yet! But that keeps things exciting so I don't mind not knowing where I'm heading next :)

I'm in the same boat. no clue what my next move is.

Where are you living at the moment? Bored of it or just time for something new?

I'm living in Florence, Alabama. It's in Northern Alabama.

You should do an introduce your home town - I know nothing about Alabama but would like to.

Awesome. I love your pics. Looking great. thanks for sharing.

Thank you, and thank you for reading :) are you entering?

My pleasure.

Welcome to Steemit, have fun with it.
Followed. Follow me back 😘

Hey! I didn't even know about the place. I had to look it up on google maps! Thank you for sharing it looks amazing. Btw, how is the water temperature in summer? Is it nice for swimming or is it still chilly?

Haha really? It's odd how when you live somewhere it feels like pretty much the only place in the world but actually most people probably don't even know it exists! The sea isn't too bad... I wouldn't say warm but people do swim in it.

The castle looks like it was from a fairytale <3 How many people live there? Your hometown must be such a cool place :)

The inside was amazing too - full of crystals, jewellery and fossils. So magic.

Beautiful place! Lovely beach

I am so charmed by the atmosphere that I get from the pictures in your post, looks like the exact kind of place I love to spend time at: a combination of breathtaking nature (love going on hikes through the forest, and watching sunsets on the beach), dreamy, slow paced and quirky lifestyle to enjoy... and bonus points for the great music at the Festivals! I would love to visit one day :) Great post!

Thanks! It is a great place to live. The downside is that there aren't loads and loads of shops or clubs or that kind of thing, but I don't really mind so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01