Trusted Advisor, Bad Scientist, Halfway Decent Yogi - From LinkedIn to SteemIt!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceourself8 years ago

Imgur
After a brief stint with a "Secret" laboratory located in Colorado, I retreated into obscurity for a few years to nurse some wounds I had received while playing the part of a Mad Scientist at said laboratory. I used these years pretty exclusively as a way to just take a break from the world while I shitposted and Trolled LinkedIn.
Imgur

My experience over the past two years on LinkedIn taught me a lot in regards to social networks. In one year I managed to add to my account, which had been active for more than 6 years at that time, about 2000 new connections. These connections were mostly a 50/50 between people in the Blockchain world and people in the cannabis industry. LinkedIn was a GREAT network for the time. That is until it changed hands to Microsoft last year; all covered in this article.

The moral of this story was and is to backup your contacts, which I did. These many connections I had made all disappeared a few weeks ago when I abruptly shutdown my LinkedIn account due to it's new user interface. I shut it down like I've done many times with Facebook, expecting my connections to still be there if I decided to reactivate my account, as with Facebook. But unfortunately, possibly because of the new interface, LinkedIn does not keep your connections if you deactivate your account; so it's nothing like Facebook in that sense. Luckily, I had already planted the seed of descent and informed my network that I would soon be leaving for good. Who's ready to leave LinkedIn?

Imgur

Now that I've freed up my time away from LinkedIn, I prefer to stay focused on the innovations coming on the SteemIt front. In fact, I half expect SteemIt to be a very suitable replacement for LinkedIn by the end of the year. Right now, SteemIt is a far superior blog site to LinkedIn Pulse but still needs a few more features to really compete with LinledIn as a whole. This WILL happen though and the $26 BILLION that Microsoft paid for LI will eventually pale in comparison to the value that the Steem Blockchain accumulates to over time. Looking forward to that!

~Quixotic Malcontent

Sort:  

Welcome !! I was on linked in till I took an early retirement (thanks bitcoin). I used to browse profiles and paid huge fees to be able to send direct messages to candidates in order to get a prize for getting them jobs.

Sooo.... done with all that. So done that I didn't even know VirusSoft took it over.

Ha! Thank you!
Yea, Microsoft took over an immediately changed EVERYTHING. The interface became very cumbersome. It defies logic but they (Microsoft) came along and actually made it difficult to navigate LinkedIn. And I was using LI to write articles for Pulse anyway. Doesn't make sense to stay around and support a community like that anymore. I just wish I was more effective at bringing more people over before I lost all connections.
Glad to hear that I'm not the only one to trade up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78