LIVING MY LIFE BACK TO FRONT – IT’S NEVER TOO LATE TO BE WHAT YOU MIGHT HAVE BEEN

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Yep, that’s right, I’m living my life back to front.


I am South African.


After finishing high school (I didn’t go to college because I was raised by an aunty and sisters and I could not continue to be a burden to them), I started to work almost immediately and moved out on my own.


I worked and did well at my career but throughout my career I had businesses that I operated on the side with a partner. I have always been an entrepreneur at heart.





When I was brave enough and after I had been working for many years, I gave up my job to start my own estate agency. I was very blessed and did very well, but my downfall was that I was too trusting with the people that I worked with. With the economic downturn, many people were unable to honour their financial commitments to me causing me to suffer huge losses. The property market was also in a slump making it difficult for me to continue working in it.


I made another bold decision and enrolled to study at university on a full-time basis. This was in 2010. I finished my BCom Law, completed my LLB and finished Law School. Thereafter I got a scholarship to do my LLM in International Business Law (Taxation) at Tilburg University in the Netherlands. So from 2010 to 2016 I attained 3 degrees. As I said, it is never to late to be what you might have been. Yes, I know, we all want to be millionaires!!

Upon my return in mid-2016 I battled to find my mojo in the job market back in South Africa, partially due to politics, which was unkind to me as a child and now again as an adult, and some other factors.

I have difficulty fitting into the straight-jacket world of law as it is practised by most attorneys in Cape Town.




I believe that the law profession has to transform itself and recognise that the profession has to keep abreast of the digital age or risk being left behind. There has to be greater synergy between technology and the law, especially in the field of International Business Taxation, my area of expertise.





I am PhD candidate , and as part of my thesis I have been researching blockchain technology for the past two weeks. The blockchain concept / technology is mind boggling and I realise that this technology has the power to change our lives as we know it.


Even though there has been teething problems with the blockchain because it is in its infancy, I recognise that the blockchain is here to stay.


It was whilst I was researching the blockchain technology, that I stumbled upon Steemit through a video of @jerrybanfield. And the rest is history! I am now a Steemian!


This is my story.


But there is more to me still!......


So, I have this problem that the blockchain has to solve for me regarding International Business Taxation.


Are there any entrepreneurs / programmers / blockchain enthusiasts/geeks that can collaborate with me on this? Maybe we can put our heads together and see what ideas we can come up with that can be turned into a whatever?




The opportunities are endless!!





I would appreciate you getting in touch with me please and follow me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71