#IntroduceMyself #Introduction #life My Superpower is Helping People Find Happiness

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Greetings and salutations fellow Steemians! As a professional who has been active in SEO, blogging, and social media for almost a decade I have finally decided to take the plunge and move all my content over to Steemit. This decision comes after studying the Steemit White Paper (yeah, I’m a geek that way) and trolling observing you guys for almost six months.

I foresee this kind of platform as the future of organic SEO and social media. Steemit is still in its infancy; therefore it can be clunky and has challenges with functionality, security, and governance, BUT all digital systems (i.e., Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) are facing the same problems.

Who is Paul Farmer? (50k Overview)

I was a creative child and grew up in an über-fundamentalist Pentecostal environment. With three generations of pastors in my heritage, I think my friends and family members were shocked when this PK (preachers’ kid) did not take up the family business. In fact, I'm sure they were disappointed with my teenage choices to pursue Dungeons & Dragons, rock n’ roll, and substance abuse.

In my early twenties, I met and married a beautiful girl (after dating her for only three weeks—which I do NOT recommend), and we started a family, and for the most part, I put my dreams and passions on hold for the next twenty years. During this time, we scraped by and raised four awesome kids. Sadly, I fell prey to the lemming-like approach found in so many Christian families and bought into the system. I didn’t ask tough questions of myself, my leaders, or others around me. I don’t know if I can isolate any one reason; but I’m sure it was a combination of culture, conditioning, timing, fear, and hopefully some level of responsibility.


The Farmer Family Christmas 2017

However, that Jiminy Cricket inside my head never left me and about nine years ago I embarked on an epic adventure. The voice kept saying, “Paul, this is not all for you. There is more to life. Reach for the brass ring.” This sparked a paradigm shift in my thinking, so, after the most eclectic work path ever, I decided to make some life-changes in my forties.

https://d.tube/v/writingden/fwf36e7z
Screen Shot 2018-01-03 at 12.10.44 AM.png

Fast forward… two college degrees later, a study abroad of Greek Tragedies (in Greece), and a massive career change, all find me reaching for the stars. In my day-job, I teach, speak, and train small to medium-sized businesses on the best ways to gain market share through SEO and social media, but at night I dream of being a fiction writer.

Greece 1.jpg
Your's Truly hanging out in front of The Temple of Apollo in Delphi

What can you expect from me?

While my posts will cover the entire spectrum of my hobbies, interests, and life, one consistent thread will show up; you can expect stories, anecdotes, and life lessons regularly. Encouraging people to reach their full potential and find happiness is my superpower, and I plan on using it.

I’m extremely selective about who I follow. When I get the comments such as “I followed you. Will you upvote or follow me?” It is highly probable he/she will be ignored or used as an example of what NOT to do in one of my future posts.

Reasons I might follow someone:
• Passionate, interesting, and/or quality content
• Content with valuable insight into Steemit or the supporting digital ecosystem
• I see a diamond in the rough

If you would like to see who I followed while doing my research, here is a partial list:

@gavvet, @rigaronib, @gringalicious, @jerrybanfield, @dan, @kyle, @michelle.gent, @hotrod, @officialfuzzy, @sweetsssj, @papa-pepper, @winstonwolfe

P.S. I am sure I will make plenty of mistakes. I am wide open to tips, tricks, and input for improving my content and I am super excited to join the Steemit Community.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @writingden! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for your input. I will check it out.

Welcome to town!

As you may find out quickly, much of the behind the scenes goes on on Discord. Have you heard of it?

If not, check it out. 😎

There are LOTS of little communities around, especially writing communities.

Make sure you check out the contest tag to find new friends and interact.

If you ever need a hand or have a question about markdown (it's the site's editor), let me know.

Also, Dtube doesn't yet allow embedding. I'm pretty sure only Youtube can do that so far.

♨️Happy Steemin'! ♨️

I am all about engaging fellow writers so I will be checking out some of those communities. Thank you for the markdown tips. Be careful what you volunteer for, 'cause I might just take you up on your offer to help. lol . Happy New Year!

Lol! No worries! I'm good for it.

In fact, to get you started (so your posts can look as good as mine🤣 ), here's my markdown post I made a few months ago. Info's still good, just don't upvote it. It's long since past payout.

🌟Pimp Your Post🌟 A Beginner's Guide to making your Steemit posts LOOK AWESOME.

This is great info. Thanks for sharing. You guys are quite talented. I look forward to growing in the Steemverse.

Welcome To Steemit!! I am looking forward to your future posts!

I always appreciate the input. You have been writing some great posts lately.

Thank you! I'm sure you'll do super here! 👍

Congratulations @writingden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post. I am glad your here.

Thanks hotrod, I am happy to be here. Keep up the good work!

Welcome! I look forward to seeing what the future holds for your account, and learning from what you have to teach

Thank you for the feedback. Happy New Year!

is awesome!!!

Welcome to this awesome community, stranger. You'll love it here.

I am excited, thank you for welcoming me.

Welcome to steemit a really nice post....enjoyed reading it....thanks for sharing the picture

Thanks for the insight.

No... thank you. You were part of my inspiration to move away from my WP blog and share my new content over here. Also, I appreciate the great info in the link above.

Happy New Year to the whole gang, but give your g-ma a big hug from me! I was glad to see she jumped on the Steemit bandwagon as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66