Exploring Art + Collaborative Design on Steemit : introducing "voronoi"

in #introducemyself8 years ago

“lgm-1” is now @voronoi !

I’ve been an active Steemian for a few weeks now and have been blown away by the innovative and supportive small-town world here. I’ve decided to change my name with an eye on the long-term… departing from a name that sounded an email address and moving to one that fits with my identity as an artist and as a member of the Steemit community.

I’m going FULL STEEM AHEAD and I couldn’t be more excited!

A Re-Introduction - Why Follow Me?

As “Voronoi” I’ll be writing about art, science, architecture, urbanism and much more! You might recognize my writing as “lgm-1” on how “Blockchain will Change the Way Cities are Made.” In this post I spoke about how the Steemit model highlights socially valuable ideas and rewards impactful content… and then began to re-imagine that same strategy as a means to restore value towards neglected landmarks and monuments in physical communities around the world.

Last month I wrote about today’s educational and social roots in the Bauhaus Movement and also how to “Power-Up Your Neighborhood” where I sketched out a map and user interface that could be used to discover and empower Steemit projects within your own community…

As an artist, I’m a strong believer in hand drawing as a tool for discovery. Steemit is such an exciting platform to share your artistic process and reveal the labor behind a final work of art. I’ll be posting drawings, photography, animated GIFs, and craft-oriented tutorials…

So, Who Am I?

My name is Kirk and I live in New York City. I’m an artist, architect, urbanist and educator.

I believe that good and impactful designs are achievable through engaging curiosity and enabling collaboration.

I’m a co-founder of the design collective @hitheryon (meaning “here” and “there”). A group of four American architects. The four of us moved to Berlin, Germany, in 2011 and opened a small design studio right after graduating school. Since 2011, we’ve exhibited our collaborative drawings, murals and sculptures in over a dozen cities and half-a-dozen countries worldwide.

Follow me and the boys @hitheryon

Looking Forward…

I’ve met so many talented and passionate people on Steemit from all over the globe. This place is such a unique platform to share your passions, beliefs and ideas. It’s truly unprecedented as a way for us to share and collaborate with one another. I’m looking forward to sharing my own experiences while simultaneously learning / collaborating with YOU, the Steemit community!


Follow me @voronoi

Sort:  

Holy shit I love your art. I am so much looking forward to your art and tutorials. I am a visual effects artist and would love to give my pencil skills more attention. I have had art and pencil classes during my studies but never doodle or draw since. Also I like... No love your name, I use Voronoi all the time. As a FX artist when I need to break 3d geometry (for example a building collapsing) I use Voronoi to do so. Also I use it in various other areas of FX as noise. I love it!

p.s. check your wallet.

Dude, thank you! Very happy you dig the name and looking forward to seeing some visual effects work from you (followed) Stay tuned for art + lots of other good stuff. Thanks for generous support! + the awesome feedback

Can confirm that @voronoi == @lgm-1

It's gonna take awhile for me to get used to the new username!

Thanks Kevin! It's gonna take me some time too! Haha

Well wow! So glad to see you here, @voronoi. And what a great re-intro. I am dazzled, and can't wait to see more of your work and @hitheryon's.

Thank you so much @fairytalelife ! I'm psyched! Stay tuned for more!!

Welcome back to the platform!! I'm excited to see what cool things you bring to the table. I love collaborating and that the four of you are creating a world based on that. Thanks for coming back full steam ahead!

Thank you for the kind words @everlove! Can't wait to share our work with you!

Thank you for posting @voronai. Your articles have been appreciated, resteemed and your professionalism comes through the screen. All the best to your endeavors. Cheers.

As always, thank you for your insightful and supportive comments @bleujay . Looking forward to growing my new identity here. :)

voronoi means black horse in russian )

Hah, no kidding! I like it! (Although I was thinking of the definition from a pattern perspective... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voronoi_diagram )

I too have met a lot of really creative people on here. Thanks for the post!

It's such an awesome community for creative folk.. thanks for reading!

Since this is an intro post, welcome to the community then @voronoi :). See you around.

Thanks @juvyjabian ! Looking forward to crossing paths :)

love this post, I just learned about you - great to meet you and I look forward to more excellent future posts!

Also @veronoi after looking at your hand drawn concentric circle post, it occurs to me that you might like Gary Lang's paintings: https://www.google.com/search?q=Gary+Lang+painter&rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS621US630&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=644&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjK7_aVmePPAhUI_mMKHZcqDT8QsAQILQ
He is a friend and used to live NYC and now is in LA.

Thank you @natureofbeing ! Your friend Gary Lang's work is really incredible, thanks so much for sharing. I love his bold use of color and concentric painting style. I'm a new fan.

Sounds good @voronoi Upvoted and followed, I look forward to reading, seeing and absorbing more

Thank you. Looking forward to sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65