This is me, please be kind

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Ahem. *knock knock*. Is this thing on? Yes? Ahem! Hi!

So I am Ilana. I am 33, my hair is pink, I know three languages, have 4 significant others (yay poliamory) and I write. A lot.

Over the past decade I've been a tech journalist, content marketer, translator, copywriter and poet. Words have always fascinated me, as communication is possibly the one thing that can change people, relationships and the world. Without communication, we'd all fall into a Babel-style chaos.

I write from home. Not by choice, mind you, but because I suffer from chronic pain due to fibromyalgia. It's an invisible illness, so it's often hard for people to understand why I can be miserable even when I smile and laugh. I just refuse to let the pain beat me.

Living with my husband and three cats, I often get asked about children. Well, between the chronic pain and difficulty working, it's close to impossible to raise a child. So we wait. And postpone. And I complain.

What else can I say about myself? Well, I am a mutant (true story!), I suffer from cPTSD and anxiety, I consider myself a gamer and have some really weird and interesting hobbies you might discover if you continue reading my stuff.

I guess that's as much as I am willing to reveal at this point, being unfamiliar with steemit and its community.

So be kind. It's my first time. :)

Sort:  

Hi Ilana! I've noticed you helping out new kids with tech advice. You rock! I can already tell you're going to be a natural on Steemit. So glad to have you here and hoping you're finding it rewarding.

Thanks! <3
Right now I am mostly lurking. Reading. I hope to get the hang of it and not make too much of a fool of myself.

Pleased to meet you! And an especially big thank you for writing a post that is not choc-full of blatant spelling errors. Folks, it only takes a few extra minutes to check your work for such errors and correct them and it makes for a much easier and pleasant read for others.

I look forward to more from you, techs out:)

I write for a living. Typos and grammar errors make me itch. Thanks for commenting, fellow grammar aficionado!

Welcome to Steemit
Steemtools.com
Steem.io 4 Whitepaper

Nice meeting you. I am new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64