Introduce myself... Squamous

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

I thought it would be cool to share a few of my favourite songs of this year for my introduction post

I don't know if it succefully describes who I am but it let's you in to my musical taste.

  1. Arcade fire - signs of life

A really unique song off my favourite album of 2017. It really reminds me of David Bowie (whom I love also). I have definitely screamed along to this song on the way to work a few times.

  1. Alex the Astronaut - not with hiding

A real anthem during this year's same sex marriage debate and vote in AUS. it tears at the heart with raw and personal lyrics - a song that will be played for a long time to come when reflecting back on this historical chapter.

  1. Baker Boy - cloud 9

I love this, despite hip-hop not being a favourite genre. The song contains indigenous verses which is awesome and something that I can't really recall ever hearing in a song.

Again getting slightly political, it is a really important song because it puts the Australian indigenous culture right in your face - which for a relatively uncultured white guy is really refreshing. The indigenous culture in Australia has been oppressed since colonisation (and is still today) and hearing great talent like this heightens the shame of it all.

He's other big hit 'Marryuna' is also a beauty.

  1. Methyl Ethel - Ubu

This band doesn't know how to release a bad song. I haven't heard a bad methyl Ethel song yet. Another great car singalong for me.

I hope you enjoy this little taste. I do love listening to music and I will try to share my good finds if you would like to follow

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @squamous upvote :)

Welcome to Steem @squamous I have upvoted and sent you a tip

You're a champion

Hello @squamous and welcome to Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions.

Welcome to steemit @squamous. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @squamous to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit, Thank you for this presentation. I hope you enjoy the Steemit universe. Looking forward to discover you. Thank you

Happy to be a part of things!

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63