Sort:  

IQ metrics are abused on “the other side of the mean” and don’t perfectly correlate with genius or exceptional achievement. I will add a statement about this to my blog.

I realize you’re probably joking, but if your achievement has something to do with sleeping, dreaming, marijuana, or underdamped, maybe nature has a plan for you and a reason for you to exist. We’re not omniscient.

Seems Einstein’s depth and creativity of abstract conceptualization is what separated his genius from those who had higher (g factor) IQs than he did. This has also been noted by expert psychometricians w.r.t. to the Psychoticism which is posited to have been a source of Robert Wagner’s genius.

I think I also have a high level of creativity and a desire to for depth of conceptualization. After reading about Psychoticism temperament in the PEN model, I note that I have personality traits that seem to higher correlate with the description of Psychoticism temperament. Also I think that non-conformist temperament is captured in my very high 88% level of iNtuition (instead of Sensing) and the Perception (instead of quickly Judging) in my ENFP Myers-Briggs personality model score:

Examples of such psychotic tendencies include recklessness, disregard for common sense, and inappropriate emotional expression to name a few […] By this he means that some people are over inclusive in their thinking, meaning they have a very broad conception of relevance, as opposed to people who have a much more narrow conception of what is relevant. He continues by stating that unusual responses to word association test could be used as a measure of this hypothetical quality […] the over inclusive thinker is more likely to have a personality which relates to that of a schizophrenic or general psychotic disorder. The difference is that although the psychoticism score of the creative person is high just as that of someone diagnosed with a psychotic disorder, the creative person not necessarily diagnosable as a psychotic.

Indeed I have even corrected IQ tests for having more than one correct answer because I was able to think about the question from a different perspective which was equally or even more valid. (And not just those linked above) I have even been accused of being “bat shit crazy” because of this capability of mine. Also a smart and erudite evolutionary biologist with an interest in psychology had also noted that I seemed to have bipolar-like brain activity or highly elevated dopamine levels. Unfortunately since my gut TB and remnant liver and spleen cysts, I seem to often lack the sustained mental energies which gave me this capability. I seem to be mentally exhausted too often and struggling with mental exhaustion manifesting as discombobulated mental state.

If we culled the population by fungible measures of intelligence, the human species would become extinct because it would ossify, innovation would stagnate, and the division-of-labor would fail to inexorably trend to maximum. In short, fungible metrics are negentropic.

Apparently standardized aptitude tests don’t measure very well divergent thinking. On a divergent thinking IQ test, I seem to measure higher.

Some more related comments about creativity versus intelligence research.

I explained that I prefer to learn concepts before details and apply integrative thinking.

I wrote on Quora:

Just be wary of ignoring the possibility of confirmation bias. Maybe the morale problem was also because you’re female. So you shared even less in common with males that joined to be fighting, macho soldiers, not abstracticians. They probably didn’t have much confidence in your ability to lead them in times of brutal violence when the women typically run away and hide.

I think you recognize it wasn’t their fault that you weren’t yet aware enough that you were subjecting them to your poor choices at that time. Okay I get the noble part that you wanted to serve your country, but you hadn’t yet conceptualized some basic things which you now in hindsight do. So how valuable was the utility of that 159 IQ?

This why I don’t view IQ as metric necessarily correlated to succeeding at attaining a goal. Very high IQ people still make dumb mistakes. And then try to blame it on IQ, lol. (I’m sort of teasing you, but also flipping your logic on its head)

I’ve come to believe that tasks have to matched to IQ and personality. If a task is too mundane the high IQ person won’t be engaged and contented.

Quora doesn’t have a feature to enable us to find our old comments that were not a top-level answer. Thus for the time being I am finding a place to dump some of my comments here on Steem. Today I wrote:

It is an over generalization because Myers-Briggs personality type taxonomy doesn’t have enough variants to describe all the nuances of personality. I would guess that stereotypically (and thus not always) INTJs can have tunnel vision and be intransigent in the sense of unable to adjust a much broader perspective. They can be very astute at catching details I might gloss over. I can be good with details also, but I have to make a conscious prioritization decision to do it. My tendency would be to always take the Paretto principle or 80/20 approach to prioritization. I’m ENTP and I do indeed suffer from have amazing ideas on a daily or even hourly basis. Yet when I set my mind to getting things done, I’m capable of going into introverted mode.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64